Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Chris Cornell

Leave a comment

Fridays are usually reserved for Fresh Air thoughts, but in a cruel turn of events, I was actually outside, enjoying fresh air, when I heard about Chris Cornell yesterday, so that title didn’t seem appropriate today.

I wish I had the words to post a lovely tribute, like some of the others I’ve seen, but I’m copying my hastily written Facebook words from yesterday morning, because they pretty much sum up my feelings:

Chris Cornell…what can I say? I was obsessed with Soundgarden when I was a teen. First CD I ever bought. Cornell solo was the first non-local concert I went to. I watched ‘Singles’ in the theater bc I knew he had a bit part. I even watched that awful Great Expectations adaptation from the 90s bc CC had a song on the soundtrack. I’m saddened to hear of his passing. And if the suicide rumors are true, I’m even sadder because he, like many people I love and have loved, struggled with the demons of addiction and depression. Today I’m gonna scream along to the music a little louder.

 

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

