Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Happy Spring 2017

Leave a comment

I started with the best of intentions about blogging regularly in 2017…

It’s been a rollercoaster few months. There’s obviously the daily WTF moments every time I look at the news. And in my personal life, I’ve been worrying about a sick loved one, among a few other stressful things.

In good news, after nearly three months of fighting and threatening legal action, my husband and I FINALLY got our security deposit back! What made the situation even more irritating is that our former landlord is a lawyer. He either didn’t care he was breaking local/state laws or he thought we were too dumb to realize. Whatever the case, I’m glad to finally close that chapter of my life.

Random cat photo, just because:

 20170304_160152

There’s a story behind that toy. It belongs to my parent’s cat who inexplicably became terrified of it. I tested it out with my boys and they are clearly fine with it. I thought when I returned it to the rightful owner she’d at least sniff it out of curiosity because it had new scents, but nope, she’s not having it. 

In writing news, I’ve been working a lot on EMMA and I love the story she’s shaping up to be. To sum it up in three words: family/loyalty/addiction

In reading, I finished The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas and WOW. I adored Starr and her family and their close-knit but complicated relationship.   

This book is about so many important topics: race, class, power, identity, community, loyalty, grief, guilt, anger, the difference between a real apology and saying, “I’m sorry you’re upset [by the effed up things I said].”

My ramblings can’t do this book justice, so just go read it.

It’s spring now and I’m looking forward to more outdoor time. Hope everyone is well!

 

 

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

