Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Farewell 2016! And why I’ve been MIA

4 Comments

2016 has been a crapshoot for a number of reasons, but in the midst of all the crap, something good happened to me and my husband:

WE BOUGHT A HOUSE!!!

This was not something we planned, but back in June, I tweeted about this happening in the apartment upstairs from ours:

 

Our neighbor was suddenly homeless and had to move in with family. And the apartment beside that one was also deemed unsafe by the building inspector and our other neighbor had to shove all his belongings into a truck and move to another place (unfortunately owned by the same slumlord).

The cause of the ceiling collapse was a roof full of holes. Every time it rained, the blown in insulation sucked up the water like a sponge (so no water marks as warning) and when it finally became too heavy for the drywall, the entire ceiling came down, all at once. Like I said in my tweet, it’s amazing no one was seriously injured. The noise and the way the building shook when it happened was unbelievable.

Fast-forward two months and nothing had been done about the roof and water was leaking in every which way (evident by fungus growing in the hall) and we were completely fed up, but we have cats so the only way we were moving to another rental was:

  • paying a kajillion dollars a month in pet deposits
  • seeing what other garbage place the owner had available
  • getting rid of our animals

All of these options sucked so we talked to a realtor. Buying a house was something we’d planned to do in a few years, once we saved up a down payment, but we no longer had that time.

The process started rolling and after weeks of searching and 2+ months of submitting documentation about every aspect of our lives, we signed away the next 30 years. And not a moment too soon – a few days after we moved, I met with the building inspector and he told me an entire exterior wall of our old apartment had to be torn down and replaced because of water damage.

I’m not surprised by this news, but it still makes me scream: WTF?!

It’s been a frustrating and uncertain last six months, but I’m glad we took the leap so I can put the memory of that fungus-filled shithole behind me. I’m also glad my first neighbor found another rental (from someone else) and my second neighbor will be doing his own house-hunting in a few months.

Plus happy cats because they have trees to look at now instead of a parking lot!

marty-at-window

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

4 thoughts on “Farewell 2016! And why I’ve been MIA

  1. I’m sorry about the circumstances of your new house (slumlords are THE WORST) but I’m glad you guys were able to find something and are happier and that your cats are happier, too!

  2. Aw, CONGRATS on the new house!! 🙂 The situation that got you there was sucky, but at least it ended in a positive way.

Leave a Reply

