Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Currently – the 1990s edition

10 Comments

This week, I’m joining Katy Upperman and some other awesome people and posting CURRENTLY.

LOVING

Sharing the 1990s with my teenage brother. I dug out a few VHS tapes of ‘outtakes’ from my sophomore year, when I wrote, directed and starred in my first and only movie: DEAR DIARY.

Sadly (or thankfully), the movie is warped beyond watching, so we settled on ‘behind-the-scenes’ that mostly consisted of me and my friends flubbing lines and laughing hysterically.

My bro was most impressed by the fashion of the day, from a girl wearing JNCO jeans to my layers of clothing.

My morning routine was pretty much:

  • Start with a long-sleeved shirt at least a size too large
  • Add a t-shirt, a size larger
  • Cover up further with a flannel or other button-up, but don’t button it because that would be lame
  • Finalize with Dad’s 1970’s cardigan, made for a 6-foot tall, burly man, worn with pride by a 100-lb girl
  • Then high-waist jeans and steel-toed combat boots and voila, 1990’s stylish!

I wonder how I, and many others, didn’t collapse from either heat stroke or the weight of two tons of fabric.

READING

SUMMER OF SLOANE by Erin L. Schneider. I’ve been waiting for this book for forever, so I’m reading slowly and vicariously soaking up the Hawaiian sun and sand.

20160503_132249

It’s not a pic without a cat in it!

WATCHING

Hubby and I are about halfway through the second season of DAREDEVIL. We are the slowest binge-watchers ever because we usually only get to an episode a week.

We watch a few other shows together, too, including GAME OF THRONES. You’d think after five seasons, I could remember names, but nope, I’m all, “Where did dragon lady go? Why doesn’t the king kid do something? When is that sociopath* going to get what’s coming to him/her?”

That could refer to many different people so it usually involves me pointing at the screen.

LISTENING TO

Whatever pops up on Spotify. I have a spring playlist, full of happy, sparkly jams (no vampires allowed), but the weather has been drizzly and unseasonably cool in Virginia and it makes me gravitate more to folksy stuff.

THINKING ABOUT

YA Buccaneers Spring Bootcamp!

I have lofty goals of finishing EMMA revisions by the end of June and I’m glad for accountability.

ANTICIPATING

So much. I’ve got a couple of daytrips tentatively planned with my younger bro over the next few months and also:

INDEPENDENCE DAY 2! Holy crap, THIS MOVIE IS ALMOST HERE and if you know me, you know I’ve been waiting for this for approximately 20 years.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

10 thoughts on “Currently – the 1990s edition

  1. Ha! I can never remember the GoT character names either. Part of the problem is that there’s a freaking year between seasons! Also, SUMMER OF SLOANE — can’t wait to read! Have an awesome week, Jennifer!

  2. My copy of SUMMER OF SLOANE is on its way – can’t wait to start reading! We’ve had some rainy weather lately…a book set in Hawaii seems like the perfect remedy!

    I’m doing the YAB bootcamp too! Cheering you on! 🙂

    http://kaitlinbartlett.blogspot.com/2016/05/currently-book-signings-signed-books.html

  3. We just finished the first season of Daredevil, I heard there was going to be a series with Daredevil and Jessica Jones, which would be awesome.
    I’m loving Bootcamp too, I really hope I finish this revision by June! Good Luck with your goals and have a lovely week.

  4. The 1900s were a special time in fashion. I was big into mens pants/jean about a half size too large with a shirt from the boy section that was about 2 sizes too small and Doc Marten MaryJanes with no socks. (My feet were always smelly.) Pure Klass with a capital K.

    and I need to get Summer of Sloane.

    Have a great week.

  5. That looks like a great read.

    I remember how classmates bragged about finding clothes at thrift shops. I recall dark, baggy, loose things with combat boots.

Leave a Reply

