Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

It’s November and I haven’t updated in awhile!

5 Comments

I finished a draft for my EMMA rewrite! 

It’s a mess but I love it and it’s been a long time since I’ve loved this story. I’d been stuck for months on what to do with the back half because I changed a major plot point.

Then I made a drastic decision and changed a main character’s name.

!!!

At first, it was confusing and my inner editor was freaking out, but I soon had an a-ha moment and knew exactly where the story was going.

Funnily enough, this is the same choice I made with JULES when I realized I hated a secondary character. He’d been rewritten so many times that he wasn’t the same person he used to be, so I literally made him a different one.

Speaking of JULES, I’m still in the query trenches with her.

My tiny kitten grew into a large kitten!

20151114_194508

The costume was a dollar on clearance; hubs and I couldn’t NOT buy it.

I’m STILL helping my parents clean out their basement!

I think I’ve been doing this for two years now but only because we spend most of the time wandering down Nostalgia Lane.

Other times we wonder, where did this come from?

20151115_155613

Doesn’t everyone need a statue of Henry VIII?

That’s about it!

I’d like to say I’ll update again before the end of the year but I’ll be busy around the Holidays with family and friends. Some of the family I’ve never even met so I’m super excited.

So in advance, I’ll say my wishes for 2016 include:

Tackling my TBR-shelf (for real this time. I SWEAR!)

Shaping EMMA into something readable and sending to betas

Other, yet to be determined, grand adventures

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

5 thoughts on “It’s November and I haven’t updated in awhile!

  1. I’ve also changed characters drastically. Cleaning takes forever for me. I do get nostalgic looking at old things. Happy writing.

  2. Congrats! Loving a story is always the most important thing imo!

    That costume is too cute!!!

  3. OMG that little shark! Swoon! ❤

Leave a Reply

