Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

7x7x7 Challenge

8 Comments

Thanks Erin Funk for tagging me!

The rules are simple: Post the 7th line on the 7th page of your WIP, followed by the next 7 lines. Then, tag 7 other writers to take part in the challenge, too.

I planned to post from one of my WIPs, but without a lot of context, the lines didn’t make sense, so here’s (roughly) seven lines from a short story I wrote forever ago, titled “Patchwork.”

The Memorial steps are jammed with kids on field trips so I eat my lunch as I walk. When several pigeons swoop down, I toss them the remains of my bread. A few blocks down, I peer in the window of an art gallery.

Today he’s with a customer, his hand resting lightly on the woman’s back as he guides her from one sculpture to the next. She laughs and he smiles, but not the same smile he’d had with my mother. I can tell it’s forced and his gaze travels distractedly past the woman’s face and to the street. For a split second, our eyes meet and my lunch rises into my throat. I turn away and hurry down the street.

I’m not sure who has already been tagged, so I’m tagging everyone to join the challenge 🙂

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

8 thoughts on “7x7x7 Challenge

  1. Jennifer, this excerpt is fantastic! I love how she’s watching him through the window and all the emotion that rises out of that (and her lunch, of course lol). There’s a real sense of history and pain there. So well done! 🙂

  2. This is fantastic. it’s amazing how much emotion can be conveyed in a small amount of words.

  3. Oh, I love this excerpt! Great emotional scene.

  4. I don’t know how I missed this back when you originally posted, but I love it. So much history and emotion in what first appears to be a fairly simple scene. I’ve got all kinds of questions about this character and the man she was watching!

Leave a Reply

