Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

YA Buccaneers Reading Challenge Wrap Up

8 Comments

Another summer down! And please don’t tell me it’s still technically summer until the 23rd of September because I am ready for falling leaves and sweater days and all the other lovely things of autumn. In my mind, summer ends in August.

Anyway, I read a ton this summer for the YAB Reading Challenge and here’s more about that:

YAB Reading Challenge 2015

BANNED BOOK: n/a

Dust of Eden coverBOOK WITH DIVERSE MAIN CHARACTER:

DUST OF EDEN by Mariko Nagai. Add this to the list* of beautiful books in verse I’ve read featuring diverse main characters. There were some truly heartbreaking passages in this book, about the Japanese-American internments camps during WWII, and about war, in general.

This is hell, Mina, where men die as soon

as they are freed. This is hell when men do

this to each other.

BOOK BY YOUR FAVE AUTHOR:

I have a lot of “favorite” authors, so this was a tough category. I picked up LANDLINE by Rainbow Rowell and it was just as delightful as her other books.

ROAD TRIP BOOK:

I just started REUNITED by Hilary Weisman Graham (hence the half a line above) and it promises to be sweet and funny and exactly the kind of book I need after reading some seriously heavy ones.

BOOK YOU OWN BUT HAVEN’T READ:

THE CEMENT GARDEN by Ian McEwan – disturbing, unsettling, the kind of book you want to un-read. It was adapted into a movie and many of the reviewers were people who wanted to un-see it.

SET DURING THE SUMMER:

THAT SUMMER by Sarah Dessen – breezy read, loved the sisterly bond.

ADAPTED INTO A MOVIE:

SOMEONE LIKE YOU by Sarah Dessen – one of the best YA female friendships I’ve ever read. And I loved the growth of the main character.

Bone Gap coverBOOK OF YOUR CHOICE:

BONE GAP by Laura Ruby – it kinda lost me at the end, but the build-up was slow-burning beautiful. The cover is a perfect fit for the story. 

TRANSLATED FROM ANOTHER LANGUAGE:

LIZARD by Banana Yoshimoto

The is the second book I’ve read by the author and I felt a bit ho-hum about the first, although I couldn’t put my finger on the reason why. I thought maybe something had been lost in translation, but I think it had more to do with the writing style (very little dialog, a lot of inner musings). It worked a lot better for me in this book because it was short stories instead of one long story full of seemingly disjointed scenes.

SET ON A DIFFERENT CONTINENT:

FALLEN ANGELS by Walter Dean Myers. A tough read because of the subject matter (young men in Vietnam), but so, so good. I like Myers’ to-the-point writing style. I’ve only read one other book by him (MONSTER), which I also enjoyed so I think I might have to binge-read more of his books next summer.

HISTORICAL NOVEL:

THE YONAHLOSSEE RIDING CAMP FOR GIRLS by Anton DiSclafani – I loved the concept, but never really connected with the story/characters.

PUBLISHED YOUR GRAD YEAR: n/a

GRAPHIC NOVEL: n/a

RORY GILMORE BOOK: n/a

NON-FICTION:

LOVE IS A MIX TAPE by Rob Sheffield. This book brought up a lot of feelings since I was also young and in love in the 1990s. Even though there were sections that seemed rambling and unrelated to the story, it all somehow still worked.

*in case you’re interested:

BROWN GIRL DREAMING by Jacqueline Woodson

INSIDE OUT AND BACK AGAIN by Thanhha Lai (here is a blog review I did a few years ago)

ORCHARDS by Holly Thompson

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

8 thoughts on “YA Buccaneers Reading Challenge Wrap Up

  1. You did awesome on this challenge, Jennifer! I’m seriously impressed by how many categories you managed to knock out. As much as I love Rory Gilmore, I’m not sure I’d be able to read a book of her taste, either. 🙂 Congrats on a super productive summer, lady!

  2. I want to read so many books on your list! I didn’t do a great job with my summer reading goals–so I think I might give myself a fall reading challenge. (Normally I’d be insisting that summer is still here until the end of September but I’m honestly getting tired of the humidity!)

  3. I totally agree that the end of August is the end of summer. This time every year, I’m ready for pumpkins, fall leaves, and anything autumn-ish too. Looks like you got a ton read this summer–way more than I did, that’s for sure! I’m ashamed to say that BONE GAP is the only book on your list that I’ve read. Like I always say: Too many books, too little time. Hope all things autumn come your way soon!

  4. I have Bone Gap. It looks really good. I read The Cement Garden many years ago and remember it being disturbing. I love books in verse.

Leave a Reply

