Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.Write!

23 Comments

RSW6

Ready.Set.WRITE! is hosted by Alison Miller, Elodie Nowodazkij, Erin Funk, Jaime Morrow and Katy Upperman.

*** I made it to the final round of Red Light / Green Light! I’d love your votes if you have a minute. My line begins, “I locked myself in the bathroom stall…” and voting ends tonight at 11:59. THANK YOU for all your support these past few weeks! ***

How I did on last week’s goals

BOOKS

Finish FALLEN ANGELS by Walter Dean Myers, start on DUST OF EDEN by Mariko Nagai. DONE!

Note: I’ll be posting my YA Buccaneers Reading Challenge wrap-up on Friday, with mini-reviews.

WRITE

Finish revising the new chapter I created this past week. YESSSSS!!!!! I revised the heck out of that chapter and then I revised 20+ more pages! I was on a roll.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

She laughed and hugged me again and her happiness was so huge, it was almost a tangible thing.

The biggest challenge I faced this week

Stalking the #PitchWars tag on Twitter 🙂

Oh, and the 20 hours of darkness I sat through when my neighbor knocked out the electricity while trying to fix his air-conditioner.

Something I love about my WIP

The line I shared was about Emma’s best friend, Zoe. I love the character and their friendship, the way they support and encourage each other. YA friendships! ❤

And I guess that’s it for this year. I can’t believe it’s over! Thanks so much to the wonderful hosts of RSW. You ladies are amazing!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

23 thoughts on “Ready.Set.Write!

  1. Congrats for making it to the final round! Also, I love this part of your excerpt: “her happiness was so huge, it was almost a tangible thing.”

  2. I love a good YA friendship. 🙂 Good luck this week!

  3. Congrats on making it to the final round, and great job with your goals! 🙂

  4. Congrats on making it in pitch wars and yay to hitting those goals! The excerpt made me smile. Good luck !

  5. Thanks for joining us! And I voted the other day – I so hope you win something!

    Good luck with Pitch Wars and with your goals this week! Hope it’s a good one!

  6. Ooh Pitch Wars. Yes, this is consuming my life as well. I love it, but it’s quite consuming! Good luck 🙂

  7. Twenty hours of darkness? Wow, that’s a major inconvenience. Looks like you knocked it out of the park on your writing goal though, so that’s great! Good luck with the contests you’re in and with your revisions!

  8. Man, friendships were huge for me in hs, and I love reading books that can rekindle that feeling. And I’m not that great at participating in the Pitch Wars feed, but I am also diligently stalking right along with you… 🙂 I wish we didn’t have a whole week to wait for the picks! I’m too impatient for this! It feels harder to wait for the mentor picks than it does to wait for query responses for some reason.

    Anyway, hope you have a great week! 🙂

  9. Whoohoo sounds like you did great last week. Also sounds like one of your characters is super happy as well 🙂

  10. I love your line about the happuneasy! It just made me smile!
    Have a great week, and good luck in PitchWars!

  11. Love that line you shared, Jennifer — I can totally feel the excitement and happiness. And you’re not the first to mention Pitch Wars as a distraction this week. Best of luck with it. I can’t wait to hear about the results! Have a great last week of RSW!

Leave a Reply

