Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.Write! Update

10 Comments

RSW6

Ready.Set.WRITE! is hosted by Alison Miller, Elodie Nowodazkij, Erin Funk, Jaime Morrow and Katy Upperman.

How I did on last week’s goals:

BOOKS

Finish LOVE IS A MIX TAPE by Rob Sheffield, start on FALLEN ANGELS by Walter Dean Myers. DONE!

WRITE

I have the next chapter roughly written and I want to polish it up, as well as reading through the chapter after that, which may need some tweaking.

SORTA DONE! The chapter was really long, so I cut it into two. I revised the first half, but didn’t finish the second.

My goals for this week:

BOOKS

Finish FALLEN ANGELS, start on…? I’m not sure yet, but I’m leaning toward DUST OF EDEN by Mariko Nagai

WRITE

Finish revising the new chapter I created this past week.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

Satisfying. I was tired after my long, crazy week (see below) and I didn’t feel like working on EMMA yesterday, but I did and I kicked that chapter’s ass.

The biggest challenge I faced this week:

Sorry, this is long.

On Monday, I woke up to water dripping from my bedroom ceiling. Plumber fixed a leak in my upstairs neighbor’s sink and I told landlord that there was wet insulation, etc. One week later and I still have a wet hole in my ceiling 😦

Later on Monday, all the lights in the living room stopped working. Tuesday morning, the ones above my desk went out. The apartment used to be an office space and it has temperamental tube lights and my husband had to get a ladder from work to pull the lights out and put them back in.

They seem happy and bright now.

The next few days were a blur of work.

Saturday, the immediate family gathered to celebrate my parent’s 40th wedding anniversary. We ate takeout and it was a good time.

But it was also the day a bunch of flights had to be grounded/cancelled because of that air traffic glitch/malfunction and it left two of my cousins stranded on opposite sides of the country during a journey to meet up in DC.

The cousin on the West Coast was able to get an overnight flight, so in the meantime, I took an unexpected drive to Pennsylvania Saturday evening to pick up the other one and then drove her to DC Sunday morning.

It was a lot of driving but my mom went with me and we had a mini-reunion with family we hadn’t seen in awhile, so the trip was totally worth it.

Something I love about my WIP

The way Emma is trying to figure out where she fits in with her friends and family. If I can put on paper what’s in my head, this story is going to be all awesomely coming-of-age 🙂

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

10 thoughts on “Ready.Set.Write! Update

  1. Wow, you had a crazy week. Landlords can be the ultimate worst, can’t they? Good luck this week!

  2. Whoa, that sounds stressful! Well done on writing even when you weren’t in the mood! It’s always satisfying when you’re done.

  3. Wow, that sounds like you had a crazy busy week! That was so nice of you to drive all the way to PA and pick up your cousin, then drive her into DC.

    So how did you feel about MIXED TAPE?? It was so long ago that I read it, but I remember reading almost all of it in a ball of tears, haha. Very sad, but very good, I thought.

    Good luck on your goals this week! 🙂

  4. Holy moly, what a week! You must be absolutely exhausted after all that. It’s seriously impressive that you even managed to get any revisions done at all, so give yourself a big pat on the back. I hope this week is completely uneventful (in a good way), and that you can kick back, relax, and work on your revisions. Good luck with the second half of that chapter!

  5. Ohmygosh – I am surprised you got anything done! What a week! I hope this week is much less, um… crazy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

