Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.Write! Update

20 Comments

RSW8

Ready.Set.WRITE! is hosted by Alison Miller, Elodie Nowodazkij, Erin Funk, Jaime Morrow and Katy Upperman.

*** I made it to the second round of Red Light / Green Light – yay! I’d love your votes if you have a minute. My line begins, “I locked myself in the bathroom stall…” and voting ends tonight at 11:59. Thanks 🙂 ***

How I did on last week’s goals

BOOKS

Start on LOVE IS A MIX TAPE by Rob Sheffield – YES! I’m only a few chapters in but I’m already invested. I was a music-loving teen in the 90s (when many of the book’s events took place), in Virginia (not far from where the bulk of the story is set).

Read A SUMMER LIKE NO OTHER by Elodie Nowodazkij – YES! I loved, loved the main character, Emilia, and can’t wait for the next book.

WRITE

My goal was to make forward progress and…

I FINALLY FINISHED THE CHAPTER I STARTED AT THE BEGINNING OF THE SUMMER!!!

Okay, sorry about the caps, but they felt warranted.

My goals for this week

BOOKS

Finish LOVE IS A MIX TAPE, start on FALLEN ANGELS by Walter Dean Myers

WRITE

I have the next chapter roughly written and I want to polish it up, as well as reading through the chapter after that, which may need some tweaking.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

“Dad…” I hesitated, knowing how lame it was to not only bail on a party but to call him to come get me.

The biggest challenge I faced this week

No one thing in particular, just general real-life busyness

Something I love about my WIP

My main character’s dad and how he’s always there for her.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

20 thoughts on “Ready.Set.Write! Update

  1. I definitely need to put LOVE IS A MIXED TAPE on my TBR.
    I love a YA book where the teen(s) have a great relationship with their parents. Or even a semi-good one.
    Have a great week!

  2. Hey, congrats on finishing that chapter! Some chapters are brutal to get through and they deserve all the cheering in the world once you plow through them. Good luck polishing up that next chapter! Also, I’m with Melanie on the whole parent issue. It’s so refreshing to see good parents in a WIP!

  3. Yay for finishing that chapter!! And I love YA with involved parents. It feels exotic, haha… Glad you’re enjoying LOVE IS A MIXED TAPE. It’s such a good book! Good luck reading and polishing this week! 🙂

  4. Awww, your line from the WIP def sums up the relationship b/n your MC and her parent. What an awesome dynamic. Great job this past week and good luck this week 🙂

  5. Yay for finishing that chapter! And LOVE IS A MIX TAPE – yeah, I need to get that ASAP. Sounds right up my alley. Hope you have a productive and less busy week!

  6. So glad you finished that chapter and you’re loving LOVE IS A MIX TAPE. Good luck with everything this week!

  7. Love that your MC has such a strong relationship with her dad. I don’t see that a whole lot in YA, but it’s so cool. You rocked your goals this week, lady! Big congrats! (Also, love the title LOVE IS A MIX TAPE — I totally want to look that book up now!)

  8. As the mom of an unschooling teen and not-quite teen, I’m thrilled at the idea of a story that reflects the type of relationship we enjoy with our (fantastic, naturally!) kids. Hooray for that, and the chapter. Brava! =D

  9. Oh, I always love strong father/daughter relationships. Yay for finishing that chapter! =) Good luck this week!

  10. Good luck this week! Love your snippet. 🙂 I love when there are good parents in YA.

Leave a Reply

