Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.Write! Update

20 Comments

RSW6Ready.Set.WRITE! is hosted by Alison Miller, Elodie Nowodazkij, Erin Funk, Jaime Morrow and Katy Upperman.

  1. How I did on last week’s goals:

BOOKS

I found titles for my remaining YA Buccaneers Reading Challenge squares. Not surprisingly I was able to pull matches off my overflowing TBR-shelf.

QUERIES

Still taking a break for contests. Right now I’m doing Red Light / Green Light and I made it to the second round! They accidentally posted the voting link a week early and thank you to those who voted during the short period it was live.

The official link goes up Wednesday and I’ll post it on Twitter 🙂

I’m also considering submitting for Pitch Wars because it sounds like a fantastic opportunity. Any thoughts or advice from those who’ve submitted?

WRITE

I read through what I have for EMMA and made a few tweaks which removed a shaky plot element and everything about the story feels so much easier now.

My goals for this week:

I looked at my original goals because I really couldn’t remember them:

BOOKS – Read 10

DONE!

I finished my 10th book this past week: THIS LULLABY by Sarah Dessen (I’m still reading my way through all her books although it will probably take me through the end of the year and not just the summer).

This week I want to start LOVE IS A MIX TAPE by Rob Sheffield for the non-fiction square of the YAB Reading Challenge.

I’m also about to read A SUMMER LIKE NO OTHER by Elodie Nowodazkij

QUERIES – Send out 15

I’ve sent 9, but like I said above, queries are on hold and I think I’m just going to remove this category.

WRITE – 20 hours

???

I honestly have no idea how many hours I’ve managed. Maybe five? I’m going to revise my overall goal to just making forward progress on EMMA.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

It was hard to tell if they were mad or happy because it all sounded the same with them.

The biggest challenge I faced this week:

orange kitten!My hubby rescued a kitten the other week and I’ve been splitting my time between making new kitty feel welcome and reassuring established cats that they are still wanted and loved.

Something I love about my WIP

Everything at this moment 🙂

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

20 thoughts on “Ready.Set.Write! Update

  1. That kitty is ADORABLE! And enter PW, lady! Amazing success stories result out of that and, honestly, the worst they can say is no. Go for it! Also, LOVE IS A MIX TAPE sounds awesome. Enjoy your week!

  2. AWWWW Cute Kitty 🙂 And yes, enter Pitch Wars…I did it a few years ago and Dahlia helped me so much with One, Two, Three. Not sure if you saw that post back then and not sure if it’s still relevant but just in case: http://elodienowodazkij.com/2013/11/22/what-i-learned-last-year-from-pitchwars/

    Annnnnnd can I just say how nervous I am about you reading A Summer Like No Other? Crossing my fingers you enjoy it!

  3. Your new kitty is so sweet! Don’t tell my daughter you have more than one — I’ve got her convinced that it’s not possible to own more than one cat. 😉 Congrats on making it to round 2, and best of luck with Pitch Wars if you decide to enter. I’ve heard it’s a great opportunity!

  4. I entered PitchWars last year but didn’t make it in, but I’m definitely giving it another try this year with a new manuscript. I think it’s well worth it if you get chosen.
    Have a great week!

  5. Pitch Wars was a great experience for me. I had an awesome mentor who really knew her stuff and helped me polish up the first few chapters of my WIP, which I love infinitely more now. I don’t have any specific advice other than to say go for it! I really encourage you to enter.

    Your new kitty is adorable, and I’m so happy to hear your husband rescued her! Enjoy this new addition to your family and good luck on your goals this week!

  6. Great line! And I looooooved LOVE IS A MIXTAPE. So heartwrenchingly good. Pretty sure a lot of it is set in VA… Charlottesville, I think. I love reading books set in places I know. And I am probably going to enter Pitch Wars… let me know if you decide to do it so we can cheer each other on! 🙂

  7. That kitten is sooo cute! 🙂

    I entered Pitch Wars in 2013, and although I didn’t get in, the feedback I got from the judges was really helpful. I recommend it if you have the time! 🙂

  8. OMG, is that the kitty? So cute! Orange tabbies are my favorite. (Don’t tell *my* cats.) LOVE IS A MIX TAPE is good, but so sad. Rob Sheffield is a fantastic writer. Good luck this week!

  9. How could you possible focus on writing with that adorable kitty around???

    I hope you’re entering Pitch Wars, and good luck if you do!

  10. Here’s the best of luck to those queries! And the kitty is so cute 🙂 I did pitch wars a few years ago and got to the last round with one of my MG MSes. Just tighten, tighten, tighten and make it as interesting as possible. Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

