Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.Write! Update

30 Comments

RSW8Ready.Set.WRITE! is hosted by Alison Miller, Elodie Nowodazkij, Erin Funk, Jaime Morrow and Katy Upperman.

I’ve been away for over a month, but now I’m back and ready to spend the rest of my summer kicking butt with RSW!

How I did on last week’s goals:

BOOKS

I didn’t have any goals, but I did post reviews to Amazon and ratings to Goodreads. I’m going to *try* to keep this up, even if I only have time to post a quick line or two saying I enjoyed the book.

QUERIES

I sent out another batch a few weeks ago, but I’m taking a break to enter contests (see below).

WRITE

I haven’t looked at EMMA in over a month (eek!), but I’ve been busy with THE STAINED GLASS SUN AND MOON (originally known as JULES).

Currently, she’s entered in The Red Light / Green Light Contest over at Adventures in YA Publishing. First round voting ends tonight at 11:59EST and it only takes a minute, so vote for me? *bats lashes* Please?

My line is: I locked myself in the bathroom stall and sat down, clutching the test.

My goals for this week:

Since I haven’t seen EMMA in so long, I need to spend this week catching up with her and her family and cute Chase Lewis.

I also want to pick up a few books to get back to the YA Buccaneers Reading Challenge.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

N/A for now

The biggest challenge I faced this week:

Easing back into social media. I’ve been lurking around the edges for the past few weeks, but I didn’t really have time to comment and chat like I wanted. Now I feel a bit out of practice.

Something I love about my WIP

Emma’s family is a handful and they may not always be the most functional but they love each other fiercely.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

30 thoughts on “Ready.Set.Write! Update

  1. Welcome back! Hope everything is alright that caused you to have to take a step back. Good luck this week–on your goals and your contests!

  2. Welcome back to social media! I’ve taken a bit of a Twitter break lately, too, in an effort to preserve my sanity. It’s working, though I miss the constant chatting with my buddies –> YOU. Best of luck with the contests. I voted. 🙂

  3. I am SO GLAD YOU’RE BACK!!! I’ve seen you lurking (wait…that sounded a little stalkerish. Sorry!) and was wondering if things have settled down for you. Hope everything’s okay in your world and yay for contests and querying! I love JULES and hope it finds a home SOON.

  4. My social media has suffered this summer but can’t do everything. Good luck in the contests!

  5. Yay contests! I loved them so much. Best of luck to you – love the line you shared 🙂

  6. Glad you’re back! Are you planning to enter Pitch Wars? I’m still debating whether to put querying on hold for that contest, just to see if I can get in, since you’re not allowed to query if you make it to the mentor stage. But it sounds like it could be fun! Good luck on your goals and in the contest this week! 🙂

    • I have been seriously considering entering. I wasn’t able to last year b/c I was working on an R&R, but this year there’s nothing in the way. Let me know if you enter so I can cheer you on!

  7. Social media-ing is so hard 😦 We get it! However, we’re glad that you’re getting back into the swing of things. Also, good luck with your contest and querying as well as the goals that you set for this week!

  8. Welcome back! Returning to social media after a hiatus is hard. I’m so glad to see you back.

  9. Yay! I’m so happy you’re back. 🙂 We’ve missed you! Hope everything is going well with querying. Wishing you lots of luck with that and with the contests you’ve entered. Fingers crossed! Have a great week, Jennifer!

  10. Good luck in the contest!
    I lurk around social media sometimes too.. it’s even earned me the nickname from some people I know! Lol
    Have a great week!

  11. Welcome back, Jennifer! We missed you! It’s great to hear that you’re easing back into writing and social media. Good luck with all those contests and the querying. I’m in the query trenches these days too, and it’s tough. 🙂

  12. Yay, so glad you’re back! I have to say, I absolutely LOVE the title of your MS. Good luck in all your contest entering — it’s nice to have a change from querying every once in a while, I think. And at least contests have a fun element to them, which I’m pretty sure EVERYONE ON THE PLANET would agree querying does not! Hope you have a great week, Jen 🙂

  13. Jumping back in slowly is a great way to make sure you don’t end up over your head, Good for you, Jennifer. Here’s to a lot more time with Emma and her family.

  14. Best of luck with the contest! 🙂 Fingers crossed!

  15. I’m late to vote. I was wondering why I couldn’t find any buttons on the link. Good luck with the contest. You’ve been busy.

Leave a Reply

