Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.Write! Goals (2015)

37 Comments

It’s time for Ready.Set.WRITE! and it’s once again hosted by AlisoRSW6n Miller, Elodie Nowodazkij, Erin Funk, Jaime Morrow and Katy Upperman.

I’m taking a numerical approach this year:

10 – BOOKS TO READ

Even though the name of the game is WRITE, I’m adding reading goals because May left me in a book slump.

And, besides, it’s SummySeries, that time of year where I bury myself in books and A/C to avoid the humidity.

Note: I am a serious slacker when it comes to posting reviews. I always mean to write them, but then I get distracted by TV and other shiny things. So I’m vowing to write and post at least 10 reviews this summer, for both current and past reads. And that will hopefully get me in the regular habit of writing/posting them.

15 – QUERIES TO SEND

I took a break to enter a few contests with JULES but I need to get back in the trenches.

20 – HOURS TO WRITE

I don’t do well with word count or page goals, so I figure if I put my butt in a chair for half an hour or hour chunks I’ll make some serious progress in my WIP, EMMA.

CATEGORIES FOR THIS YEAR:

  1. How I did on last week’s goals:
  2. My goals for this week:
  3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:
  4. The biggest challenge I faced this week:
  5. Something I love about my WIP

 #2 is the only applicable one right now, so here it is:

BOOKS

I’m working my way through all of Sarah Dessen’s books, so I’d like to finish SOMEONE LIKE YOU, start on KEEPING THE MOON, and pick up an adult read for the kick-off of my library’s summer reading program. I’ve got a list of a few I want to check out, but I haven’t decided yet.  

Also: make a list of past books I enjoyed so I can start thinking about reviews.

QUERIES

Luckily I have some saved research from before, so this week I’m concentrating on drafting. By next Monday, I want to write two letters.

WRITE

I’ve been away from EMMA for awhile so I’m easing back in. Three hours this week which will give me enough time to read through what I already have. Once I get back in the groove, I can be a bit more specific about scenes I need to write/edit.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

37 thoughts on “Ready.Set.Write! Goals (2015)

  1. I’m terrible about writing reviews too. I used to be so good and reviewed everything. I definitely want to review my latest read though as it’s SO good!
    Good luck with your goals, I like the numerical approach 😄

  2. Good luck with all those summer goals! I also seriously need to get back into regularly writing reviews. Every so often, I start writing reviews for Amazon again, but then go back to not writing any reviews.

  3. I hear you on the review thing. And hey, that counts as writing, so it totally fits the WRITE thing. 😉 I find that I just read so much that leaving reviews for everything I write seems kind of time-consuming. It’s horrible, but there it is. Plus, if I didn’t love a book, I don’t want to leave a meh review of it, you know?

    Good luck with your reading/querying/writing goals this summer, Jennifer! Looking forward to doing RSW with you again! 😀

    • I think that’s my thing too, about the “meh” stuff, so I’m aiming to only write reviews for stuff I liked. I’m looking through my old lists of “read” books and since I can’t remember anything about a lot of them, that eliminates a lot of reviews right there 🙂

  4. Good luck with your writing, reading, and querying goals! I’m hopefully going to start querying again soon, so I’ll be making that a goal too. Crossing my fingers that the process goes well for you! Have an awesome and productive summer, Jennifer! 🙂

  5. Good luck with your goals this summer/this week! I am reading a Dessen book right now, too (SAINT ANYTHING!). I love your idea of writing for a certain amount of time instead of words.

  6. Some awesome goals lined up! Good luck–and especially with your queries 🙂

  7. Crossing my fingers for you! 🙂 And if you do not like doing per word count or pages or whatever, why don’t you try the Pomodoro technique and do 25 minutes at a time?
    http://tomato-timer.com/
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pomodoro_Technique
    I love it!

  8. Best of luck with the goals! I’m trying to get better at posting reviews, too, because I know how helpful they are as an author. It’s tricky to find time to review everything I read, though!

  9. Love that you did your goals by the number, Jennifer! I’ve got lofty reading goals for the summer, too. Best of luck with EMMA, and with the querying. Keep me posted!

  10. Haha don’t feel bad I get distracted too on writing reviews, be it TV or another amazing book! Good luck on all your goals!

  11. Oh, I LOVE how you wrote your goals for this! Good luck with the querying and with EMMA and all the things! Hope you have a great week!

  12. Good luck with this, Jennifer. I like how you’re planning on doing reviews. That is something that is a challenge for me.

  13. I’m with you on reviews. I have a stack of them to write. I hope you enjoy your books and if you find something awesome, please let us know! 😀

  14. A great list of goals here, Jennifer… my fav is the set time BICHOK (butt in chair, hands on keyboard). I like to have a bit of a wordcount goal, but though it’s supposed to be more of a minimum, sometimes it feels like a pinnacle to reach. Maybe time is the most important part…

    • I’ve tried word count in the past, but I edit so much when I’m supposed to be drafting that I often end up with less words than when I started. So it’s butt in chair for me! But different things work for different people. Just opening my WIP is sometimes my biggest writing accomplishment of the day 🙂

      • LOL… I’ve had days like that. Sometimes I leave the document open there when I hibernate the machine just so it comes up when I open the lid, just staring at me, demanding I “write something”.

        May you have a great summer and … write something.

  15. Excited to write with you this summer! If you need another set of eyes for your queries, let me know. I know pulling someone in who doesn’t know the story well has helped me!

  16. Good luck with querying! I’m getting back into a MS after taking a break for a while too, so hoping Emma goes well for you!

  17. I’m excited about everyone doing RSW even if I’m not in between projects and not writing much this summer. Maybe I’ll do reading goals too! In any case, I wish you luck with your querying and EMMA manuscript. So…I feel kind of ashamed saying this: I’ve never read any Sarah Dessen. Which I should start with?

    • You should definitely do a reading goal!

      As for Sarah Dessen…before this past week, I’d only read two of her books.

      The first was THAT SUMMER when I was in my early 20s (many years ago) and I was kinda ho-hum about it. I liked it better in re-read b/c I could appreciate the strong focus on the relationship between the sisters.

      The second was THE TRUTH ABOUT FOREVER which I loved. Hopefully my feelings hold up when I reread it 🙂

      I decided to just start with her first book (That Summer) and go from there. I finished her second book this morning, SOMEONE LIKE YOU, which felt a little clunky in places, but the final third was fantastic – some great character growth and a realistic mother/daughter relationship.

      I’ve been hearing rave reviews about her most recent release, Saint Anything.

  18. Love your goals! I’m really hoping to get some good reading in this summer too! A couple years ago (or maybe it was last year, lol … wow feels like a lot has happened since then), I went through most/all of the Sarah Dessen books. Have to say I think the first two I read were my faves: The Truth about Forever and Along for the Ride. The others … okay, sometimes a little clunky, after awhile bit formulaic.

    And YES! I really really want to make a point of posting reviews too. Maybe not all on my blog, but especially for the books that aren’t on bestseller lists I want to make a point of Amazon/Goodreads reviews.

    • LOVE The Truth About Forever! I haven’t read ALONG FOR THE RIDE yet, but hopefully later this summer 🙂

      I’m aiming for Amz/Goodreads, too, for the reviews – I’ve seen so much lately about how helpful it is for authors to have buzz on big retail sites like Amz.

Leave a Reply

