Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Writing fun, reading bingo and even more books from the 1980s!

10 Comments

Firstly:

I’m coming to you from my new laptop!!! I finally retired my five and a half year old Walmart special. It was a good run but I was tired of a battery that only kept a 20 minute charge and a keyboard that curled up on one side.

Secondly:

I entered Nestpitch with JULES and got several requests from agents! I’ve sent off my pages and now it’s back to the query trenches.

I took part in the YA Buccaneers 2015 Writing Bootcamp, which was a blast, although I should have made a goal more concrete than “write” because I slacked off all over the place.

Next up is Ready.Set.WRITE! and I’m making specific goals which I’ll post on Monday, June 8.

RSW6

I’m also having fun with YA Buc’s Reading Bingo

YAB Reading Bingo 2015

And it’s once again SummySeries (my totally made up word for when I spend the hot, humid months catching up on reading). I’m currently in the middle of THAT SUMMER by Sarah Dessen which I’ve read before but…

CONFESSION: I’ve only read two Sarah Dessen books. For shame, since I call myself a YA contemp lover. So I’m starting with her first book and going until I get to her most recent. #RandomSummerGoals

Speaking of random, I found another one of the Sweet Dreams teen romance books at a yard sale in Maryland (FYI, this is not the state where I live). I may have shrieked and danced around while my husband rolled his eyes at me.

(cover and description from Goodreads)

Crossed Signals cover

A teenage romance, this book is about Amy Tyler’s friendship with her best friend Laura and how this was affected by Amy’s growing relationship with Ben Richardson, Laura’s ex-boyfriend.

The hair! That sweater!

And finally:

I met writer friend Rebecca Behrens when she was in the DC area for a book event and she was super sweet. She’s the first online friend I’ve met and now I want to meet all of you ๐Ÿ™‚ Tell you what, if I win Mega Millions tonight, let’s have a giant writing meet-up – I’m paying!

Note: I’m having some issues with formatting so my text size isn’t uniform through this post. Oh well…new laptop can’t fix all the issues of The Internetz.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like:ย cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, theyโ€™re good.

10 thoughts on “Writing fun, reading bingo and even more books from the 1980s!

  1. Congrats on the agent requests and the new laptop! I can’t wait for the Ready. Set. Write challenge. Hoping for a productive summer! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. YAY!!! Congrats on all the requests! And yay for new laptops. I am trying to be patient with getting a new one, but I am so ready. Hope you have a great week!

    • I was trying to be patient, but my old one was so far gone that it was starting to slow me down at work. Now I’m lightning fast and I can write it off on my taxes so win-win ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. First, off I’m so happy you’re joining us for Ready. Set. WRITE again! I hope we all get tons done. And YAYYYY for the requests from agents! That’s awesome! Fingers crossed it yields great results. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Awesome stuff here. Good luck with the queries and requests. I’d like to read more Dessen.

  5. Congrats on the requests, Jennifer! That is so, so wonderful. Good luck with the next steps! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad you’re joining the YAB Summer Reading Challenge! I look forward to hearing about what you read. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

