Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Nestpitch, nature, and nifty books from the 1980s

11 Comments

Katy Upperman and other lovely people are doing Currently on alternating Tuesdays, so I figured I’d throw in my own “hello” today. Instead of categories, I’m just posting a few things that are happening in my life.

1. I entered the Nestpitch contest and was selected for a team!

*happy dance*

2. One of the local high schools put on “Wendy and Peter Pan” and I caught the beginning when I dropped off my niece so she could watch with my mom. It was weird not to stay since I’m usually a big supporter of the arts, but I’ve never been a fan of the story. And in this version, the Lost Boys are kids who died in childhood. That’s super depressing.

3. In non-depressing news, wild violets are in bloom! So pretty, one of my favorite flowers. I have warm, fuzzy memories of being a kid and picking them for my mom. She’d put them in paper bathroom cups and set them on the dining room table. She also did this when I picked her dandelions and other weedy things. Have I mentioned lately that my mom is the best???

Note: the pic by the river shows blue bells (I think). Whatever they are, they’re not violets.

violetsflowers on walking trail

4. In I-finally-did-it news: remember back in February during Writer Recharge when I was determined to run up that “giant hill” only it was snowy/icy/zero degrees the entire month so I decided to do it later? Well, later is now!

big hill

I’m not sure why I was so wary of this hill because the picture does it perfect justice. It’s not particularly steep and I had no trouble sprinting up it.

But who cares because I did it!

*insert lesson about how dreams are attainable, you just have to go after them, etc.*

5. And finally, the cherry on my sundae – I was helping my dad clean out boxes in my parent’s basement and stumbled upon a treasure trove of childhood memories:

discovered bks Apr 17 15

The Baby-sitters Club and The Gymnasts and so much more! I’m keeping a handful for nostalgic reasons, but many I’m donating to the local library for their next book sale. Some without a second glance because they’re Christopher Pike-ish type horror books and why did my parents let me read scary stories knowing everything in the world freaked me out???

Others deserve a reread before donating because clearly this is amazing:

Dial L for love cover

(cover and description from Goodreads)

Will the real Hank Butterfield please stand up. . . Mattie Winston’s got what most girls at Port Kearney High only dream about: Hank Butterfield, the best-looking, greatest ice hockey player at school. Mattie ought to be happy, but there’s something about Hank that makes her nervous — he’s so reserved at school. But at night he turns into a real Romeo — on the telephone! Mattie must discover the real Hank before she continues dating him — and getting those romantic phone calls.

Hilariously enough, I remembered the entire plot about two pages in (yet that didn’t stop me from reading the entire thing) and then I discovered there were over TWO HUNDRED books in the Sweet Dreams series. They all have cutesy titles like my re-found book, but then there’s this one:

Kiss Me, Creep by Marian Woodruff

Uh…what?

It’s apparently an opposites attract teen romance and I suddenly feel compelled to locate a copy. If I’m lucky, I’ll find one in another box in the basement.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

11 thoughts on “Nestpitch, nature, and nifty books from the 1980s

  1. Yay for spring and wild violets. Yay for getting into Nest pitch. Fingers crossed Jen! Have a wonderful week.

  2. Oh my gosh — I didn’t realize you’d entered Nest Pitch! I’m a slushie for Team Unbreakable, but I was in charge of reading NA and MG slush, so I totally missed out on all the YA, save the entries our team selected. ANYWAY. What team are you on? And congratulations! There were a lot of really fantastic entries this year, so you should feel most excellent about being among the top. I’m so excited for you! Congratulations!

    I’m glad you jumped in with Currently this week. I’ve missed catching up. Have a great one, lady!

  3. Congrats on tackling your hill and on Nestpitch! I love finding old books from the old days, too. Some of them are just so wonderfully terrible!

  4. LOL @ Kiss Me Creep.

    Congratulations on getting into Nestpitch and on achieving your hill-running dream! Keep us posted on Nestpitch–good luck!!!!!

  5. Congrats on tackling that hill and getting into Nestpitch! I’m a huge fan of YA books from that era. And Christopher Pike remains a fave! I’m a sucker for horror. 😀

    • I think I only read horror b/c everyone else was doing it – peer pressure! There’s one book and I can’t rem title/author, but it had something to do with vampires and it freaked me out SO BAD. For about a month afterward I was wary of every stranger I met b/c I was convinced I would be tricked into inviting them into my home. Haha, that sounds even more ridiculous “out loud.”

  6. Congrats on your Nest Pitch selection!!! That’s awesome! And yay for conquering the big hill – I used to walk hills like that, but I would die if I had to run one. 🙂 Hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

