Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Writer Recharge 2015 – Update 3

14 Comments

WriterRecharge 2015

It’s February, which means it’s time for Writer Recharge!

Once again hosted by Katy Upperman, Alison Miller, Liz Parker, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Sara Biren, Writer Recharge is your chance for a four-week jump start in the middle of a cold, dreary winter. Set goals for yourself, check in once a week, and connect with other recharging writers.

WRITE/REVISE

Last week I was on page 36 of EMMA in my quest for 50. This week I’m on page…

56!

RECHARGE GOAL MET and EXCEEDED!

*cheers* *celebratory music* *fireworks*

I also had a goal of sending out 5-10 JULES queries. I sent out SIX last week!

READ/REREAD

On Friday I lugged my clothes to the Laundromat and then settled down in a plastic chair to start RUBY RED by Kerstin Gier. Over 50 pages later, my clothes were clean and dry, but full of static because I’d been too caught up in my book to remember fabric softener.  Oh well, totally worth it 🙂

STRETCH

The weather is still a jerk – cold and then finally warm, but there was a bunch of melting snow in the way of my giant hill. Maybe this coming weekend? 

Plus I’m still planning to do #PitMad next month.

SELF

Same as the stretch – once the weather cooperates, West Virginia drive, here I come!

CONNECT

I finished the pages I was beta-reading

FUN

I already completed my stated goal of watching a so-bad-it’s-good movie, so I had to think of something else to do. Thus I came up with:

Catnip bubbles for cats.

These are apparently a thing. I saw them in the store, bought them for my Maine Coon, dumped them in his little bubble machine (yes, our cats are ridiculously spoiled) and added some dish soap to help with the bubbling.

Voila. Fun for cats. Fun for me.

Side note: Cats are entertained by most anything. Case in point, this box:

20150209_124747

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

14 thoughts on “Writer Recharge 2015 – Update 3

  1. Cute kitty. ❤ Congrats on hitting your writing goal this week, and yay for queries! Wishing you all the luck, Jennifer!

  2. Well done on the writing and querying goals this week, Jennifer! And exceeding both of them too. I was less productive. Eek. I’m getting close to the end of my RUBY RED reread. So happy you liked it! I’ve never even heard of catnip bubbles. This is something I might need to check out because my cats would go bonkers for that I’m sure.

    Good luck with the last week of Writer Recharge! 😀

    • My cat was less enthusiastic than I would have imagined considering he goes nuts over actual catnip. But he has a bit of a kitty cold, so that might be the reason. I’ll try again some other time. If nothing else, I’m entertained 🙂

  3. Sounds like you’re doing great with your goals! 🙂

  4. Nice! Kicking ass on your goals 🙂 So glad you joined us this month!!

  5. Congrats on beating your Writer Recharge goal!!! *shoots off more fireworks*

    And catnip bubbles? I did not know such wonderfulness existed. My cat is obviously pissed at me for my apparent neglect. He has asked to foster at your estate.

    Hope you have a great week!

  6. Oh my gosh, catnip bubbles? Sounds like a riot! Nicely done on exceeding your goals! That’s awesome! I’m just about finished reading RUBY RED myself, and I’m really enjoying it too. I can see why you got distracted and forgot to add the fabric softener. 🙂

Leave a Reply

