Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Writer Recharge 2015 – Update 1

20 Comments

WriterRecharge 2015It’s February, which means it’s time for Writer Recharge!

Once again hosted by Katy Upperman, Alison Miller, Liz Parker, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Sara Biren, Writer Recharge is your chance for a four-week jump start in the middle of a cold, dreary winter. Set goals for yourself, check in once a week, and connect with other recharging writers.

WRITE/REVISE

Last week I was on page 27 of 50 of EMMA. This week I’m on page…

28

Ugh.

Well, it’s one page more than before, right?

I got stuck on a weird little detail for days, but I’m finally past it so hopefully I can have at least TWO pages by next week!

READ/REREAD

On Friday evening I still needed to revise and workout. But I was tired so instead I ate takeout and curled up on the couch with BRIGHT BEFORE SUNRISE by Tiffany Schmidt, which was just what I needed. My goal for February was to read lighter books with lots of romance and this title delivered. It takes place over the course of one day, which I love, and the main female character is a sweetheart. There are a whole lot of snarky teen girls out there (which is also great), and it’s awesome to see a nice girl pop up every once in awhile.

Plus, I finished reading GREAT EXPECTATIONS! And aside from some draggy passages in the middle, I actually really liked it.

STRETCH

Nothing on this front yet

SELF

Or this one

CONNECT

I’m beta reading a MS that just so happens to have a swoony romance 🙂

FUN

My younger bro and I haven’t had the chance yet to watch our so-bad-it’s-good movie. Soon, though, soon!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

20 thoughts on “Writer Recharge 2015 – Update 1

  1. I’m so happy to hear that you loved BRIGHT BEFORE SUNRISE. I’ve had my eye on it forever because I love the cover and the title is adorable. Adding it to my wish list now. 🙂 Best of luck with EMMA this week, Jennifer!

  2. One page is better than no page. Keep plugging. I’ve been in an uphill battle with my MS for a couple months now, and the writing is just now getting easier. But oh man, I feel that pain. Hang in there! And thanks for recommending a new book.

  3. Hope you meet your goal this week! Keep at it! 🙂

  4. Yep. One page is better than none. That happens to me sometimes, too and it’s tough to move past those pesky details. I do, but man, am I paying for it now!

    Hope you have a great week!

  5. You’re one page further along than you were last week! I sympathize with the whole getting stuck on one detail thing. I do that all that time. Best of luck with your pages this week! I’m totally craving a simple swoony romance myself. Lots of snarky girls in YA–I even write them–so sometimes it’s just nice to read about a non-snarky character.

    Hope this is a great week!

  6. That one page was hard-won. Congrats!

  7. How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time… keep going!

  8. One page is definitely progress! And on top of it you moved past the detail that had gotten you stuck so you must have unraveled something 🙂 Cheering you on!

  9. I was not a fan of GREAT EXPECTATIONS. It could’ve been my college professor though, and not the book. And hey: A page is still a page. So you’ve still made progress. Glad you’ve joined us on Twitter, too!

    • If I’d had a time-table to read GREAT EXECTATIONS I probably wouldn’t have liked it as much, but I picked it up whenever I felt like it and put it down when it got boring.

      Twitter parties are awesome 🙂

  10. I have to admit, I laughed a little when I saw your revision update. But one page is one page that you hadn’t revised last week. 🙂

    Can’t go wrong with a swoony romance, especially just before Valentine’s Day.

    Hope the rest of your week is productive!

Leave a Reply

