Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

14 Comments

WUWApple2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Currently:

THE THINGS THEY CARRIED by Tim O’Brien which is a collection of short stories that take place during the Vietnam era. While it’s classified as fiction, some of it is semi-autobiographical and, like other “war stories,” it’s a tough read. It makes you contemplate human nature and self-preservation and morality.

Finished:

THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN by Katherine Applegate, a sweet, sad and hopeful MG about a captive gorilla named Ivan.

BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE by Maggie Stiefvater. I love how it felt like reconnecting with old friends. Some of it did feel like set-up over actual storytelling and did I miss what ultimately happened with Adam and his dad because there was a scene and then it was over and other stuff was happening and was my book missing pages or did I blank out??? Anyway, despite my confusion over that part, I enjoyed the book (such awesome atmosphere and tension and Ronan) and I’m looking forward to all the action/answers in the fourth book.

In the future:

I’m about to start INFINITE by Jodi Meadows and I can’t wait to see how the series ends.

After that, I’m going to pick up something light and sweet. Something like a beach read for when it’s cold outside. I’ve got a few ideas, but I’m always open to suggestions! 

WHAT I’M WRITING

EMMA

My last posted goal (weeks ago) was to rearrange the scenes in some sort of order. That is done and I’m slowly, but surely, working my way through this draft.

This is a major rewrite and I luckily did some of the work months ago, so the beginning of the book is mainly revisions. But I’m about to run into scenes that need to be written from scratch. *panics at the thought of drafting*

My goal for next week: Work on the scenes immediately following Emma’s argument with her cousin.

WHAT WORKS FOR ME

Physical activity. I’m not a big health nut (as evidenced by the ridiculous amounts of snack foods I consume), but I try to work-out or take a walk every day. I also take frequent mini breaks to stretch or get water or whatever so I’m not constantly sitting, sitting, sitting and staring, staring, staring at the computer screen. I’ve noticed that if I don’t get up a lot during the workday, I tend to feel sluggish and achy.

WHAT ELSE IS NEW

I got a new phone because my (very, very) old one was literally falling apart. It had a slide-out keyboard and at some point, I lost a couple screws (it may have had to do with the dozens of times I dropped it). This meant that pretty much every time I picked it up, the phone would come apart and I’d have the screen in one hand and the keyboard in the other.  Not cool at all.

I’m taking part in Writer Recharge 2015, once again hosted by Katy Upperman, Alison Miller, Liz Parker, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Sara Biren.

WriterRecharge 2015My complete goals are listed here, but to summarize:

  1. Get to page 50 of EMMA
  2. Finish reading GREAT EXPECTATIONS
  3. Run up a giant hill
  4. Take a country drive
  5. Connect
  6. Watch a so-bad-it’s-good movie
Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

14 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Hope the Recharge works out well for you and your rewrite. I like to get up and move while I work, too. Have a great week!

  2. I really need to get to BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE already. I’m surprised I haven’t been totally spoiled on that one and a handful of other books I have kicking around lol. I’m so happy to be doing Writer Recharge with all of you ladies. Really hoping it works wonders for all of us. I love the goals you set for yourself, especially the so-bad-it’s-good movie for fun. Love it! Have a wonderful week, Jennifer! 😀

  3. THE THINGS THEY CARRIED is one of my favorite books. That book taught me so much about writing. The final story, “The Lives of the Dead,” absolutely slays me every time I read it.

    ALSO – I will never again look at or eat yogurt the way I did before I read BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE. That is to say, I will never again eat yogurt without thinking of Gansey, which is a vast improvement over the dullness of my life before. I eat yogurt daily for breakfast; therefore, I think of Gansey every morning.

    • I’m only about three stories from the end of CARRIED, so I should finish tonight. Just when I think I’m okay, the book gut-punches me again. Amazing writing, but tough subject matter.

      YES! Gansey and yogurt 🙂

  4. I finally started reading BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE this week, and I totally agree about the awesome atmosphere. I think that’s one of the things Maggie Stiefvater does best. There’s a copy of THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN sitting on my son’s book shelf, and I’ve been wanting to get to it for ages. I should try to sneak it in somewhere seeing as it won’t take long to read.

    Keep plugging away at that rewrite, and don’t panic too much over having to draft some new scenes. You’ll do great! 🙂

  5. I loved BLLB. Hope the Writer Recharge challenge inspires you with that rewrite! 🙂

  6. I loved The One and Only Ivan. Such an amazing book.

    I get the urge to be physical many times. It’s needed.

    Rewrites can be a pain, but manuscripts come out so much better afterwards.

  7. I loved THE THINGS THEY CARRIED. Great book! Just bought THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN and plan to read it with my daughter. Good luck with Writer Recharge!

Leave a Reply

