Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Writer Recharge 2015 – Goals

16 Comments

It’s February, which means it’s time for Writer Recharge!

Once again hosted by Katy Upperman, Alison Miller, Liz Parker, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Sara Biren, Writer Recharge is your chance for a four-week jump start in the middle of a cold, dreary winter. Set goals for yourself, check in once a week, and connect with other recharging writers.

This year, we’ve come up with a few categories you might want to consider when making your goals. You can choose a goal (or goals) for one or some or all.

 

For full details, see this post.

There are six categories and I’m aiming to complete something in each one.

WRITE/REVISE

I’m currently on page 27 of my revision/rewrite of EMMA. By the end of the month I want to be on page 50 or beyond.

READ/REREAD

The last few books I’ve read were heavy and serious so I want funny, sweet and romantic this month. It is almost Valentine’s Day, after all.

I’d also like to finish GREAT EXPECTATIONS by Charles Dickens. I’ve been reading a chapter here and there for the last few weeks and I’m about ¾ done.

STRETCH

There’s a local event I want to attend, but I’m wavering because it’ll involve things that make me uncomfortable (crowds, small talk, classroom environments, etc.). If I have the threat of failing a goal over my head, I might push myself 🙂 And, yes, I’m totally cheating by not mentioning what it is.

Just in case I fail, my fallback goal is to run up this giant, steep hill near my house. I avoid even walking up this hill because I’m convinced I’ll get halfway up, become ridiculously exhausted, and roll all the way back down. Since the rolling down part is highly unlikely, I’ll suck it up and sprint.

SELF

Take a “West Virginia drive.” I live about 35 miles from the border and it really is a wild and wonderful state. You drive into certain parts and there’s just silence. Not the kind of quiet you have at night in your apartment/house when appliances are humming and traffic outside is at a minimum. I’m talking nature and head-clearing fresh air and unbelievable beauty.

CONNECT

Not sure yet on this one.

FUN

My younger bro and I are long overdue to watch another so-bad-it’s-good movie. I’m thinking THEY LIVE because it stars Rowdy Roddy Piper and experience has taught me that films featuring current or former WWE stars are always a good time.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

16 thoughts on “Writer Recharge 2015 – Goals

  1. hahaha! “…get halfway up, become ridiculously exhausted, and roll all the way back down.” I have these same fantasies sometimes. Your goals sound great! Your Virginia Drive idea makes me think of The Raven Boys and how that inspires me. 🙂

  2. I’d probably have the same fear of that hill. Roll down and never stop! But kudos to you for not letting that keep you from trying. And THEY LIVE is one of my favorite movies. It has one of the most epic fight scenes ever filmed. LOL

  3. I hear you on the heavy books thing, only for me it was one book that took me almost all of January to get through. (Not heavy, but not light and fluffy either.) Totally giggled at the rolling down the hill thing. 😛 You can do it! LOL Looking forward to touching base with you and everyone else this month!

  4. I totally gravitate to sad and heavy books, but I’m curious to hear about what you pick for your light read. Also, I’m headed to WV this weekend for a writing retreat. I’ve never been, but I’ve totally got the Raven Boys in mind. I’ve heard it’s beautiful. 🙂 So glad you’re joining us this month, Jennifer!

    • I’ll try to blog about the titles I pick up 🙂 The western side of Virginia and pretty much all of WV is gorgeous (I may be a little bias), especially in the fall/spring. Just like it says in THE RAVEN BOYS, Virginia really does have blue mountains 🙂

  5. haha! I hear you on the hill thing. When I lived in PA, we had hills like that and whew – challenging! Good luck with your goals this month, Jennifer! And so glad you can join us!

  6. Hey Jennifer – your goals sound great! I hope you make it up that hill. I think you can I think you can… lol. Keep us posted!

  7. Pingback: What’s Up Wednesday | Jennifer Pickrell

  8. I hear ya on the heavy reads. I need some lighter ones, too. Great goals – I’m excited to hear how they work out for you. And we’re here to give you the little push up the hill. 🙂 Happy Recharge!

  9. Pingback: Nestpitch, nature, and nifty books from the 1980s | Jennifer Pickrell

Leave a Reply

