Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

23 Comments

Wreath (plain)What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Books of note from the past few weeks:

NIGHT by Elie Wiesel. Heartbreaking.

SWEET VALLEY CONFIDENTIAL. I was never a diehard SV fan, but I was familiar enough with the characters that I expected to enjoy this soapy 10-years-later installation. Instead, I endured flashbacks within flashbacks to the point of absurdity. It was like Inception, but even more confusing and without the benefit of Ken Watanabe.

I, ROBOT. I can appreciate that Isaac Asimov was a visionary and some of his imagined technology was awesome, but it was surprisingly dull, sort-of like reading a summary report of events.

Last night I started THE ONLY THING TO FEAR by Caroline Tung Richmond which is set in the alternate reality of “What if Hitler had won WWII?” It’s pretty surreal to have my small hometown mentioned by name and to learn in this world it has become a labor camp.

On a side note: my TBR-list has once again exploded, thanks to Stacked’s annual upcoming YA contemporary list.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m doing a final read-through of Jules!

My goal is to finish that.

WHAT WORKS FOR ME

I’m going with the oldie but goodie of reading my WIP out loud. I cut almost 5700 words/sentences while actively searching for filler and I’ve caught more while reading.

WHAT ELSE IS NEW

I enjoyed a middle school production of Into the Woods Junior.

I am having work done on my car. The first mechanic quoted me a price that was more than my car was worth. Not kidding. But I shopped (pun intended) around and no one else in existence was anywhere close to how high the first place was. Either they’re scammers and/or completely incompetent. I even got my door locks fixed and when I pick up my car it’ll be awesome when it doesn’t randomly lock me inside the vehicle.

I’ve been working on my little brother’s Christmas present. I always try to outdo myself and I’m especially pleased with his gifts this year.

And that’s it for me in 2014. Have fantastic holidays and I’ll see y’all in 2015!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

23 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Oh yes, NIGHT was heartbreaking but a beautiful read I loved.

  2. THE ONLY THING TO FEAR sounds really interesting. Adding it to my TBR now!

  3. Best of luck finishing the read-through! 🙂

  4. I’m scared to look at that YA contemporary list. My TBR pile is already insane. Maybe I’ll just take a peek…

  5. It seems depressingly hard to find car mechanics who aren’t looking to scam money out of you. I was told I needed my exhaust replacing once when actually all the car needed was for the oil filter to be tightened. UGH!

    Best of luck with the editing and re-reading. Have a lovely Christmas and see you in 2015 😀

  6. “I endured flashbacks within flashbacks to the point of absurdity. It was like Inception, but even more confusing and without the benefit of Ken Watanabe.” Bahaha! I laughed so hard when I read this. 😛 Ah, Sweet Valley. I haven’t revisited and I’m not sure I should now lol.

    Hope the read-through continues to go well. I find reading aloud is always good for flow, but I hadn’t even thought about how it might be good for catching filler. Thanks for the tip!

    Have a very Merry Christmas, Jennifer! 😀

  7. As a person who drives a vehicle with perpetually broken door locks, I feel your pain (and your joy!)

  8. I’m sitting here laughing so hard at your comparison of SWEET VALLEY CONFIDENTIAL to INCEPTION. I love INCEPTION and just rewatched it last weekend, so that bit about Ken Watanabe totally made my day. Too funny! 😀

    I’m with you on reading WIPs out loud. It’s so much easier to tell whether the prose is flowing smoothly or not. Have fun with your final read-through of JULES and enjoy your holiday season! 🙂

  9. I catch a lot of mistakes reading my work out loud.

    Night is emotionally hard to read. I read it a few times.

  10. I think your car is trying to randomly lock you inside because it Loves You. Just a theory.

    Also, I hate dealing with car issues, so I’m so sorry you’ve been having to mess with that. Especially so close to the holidays, when let’s face it, having transportation is nice.

    Good luck on that final read through of Jules. And Happy Holidays!

  11. Azimov’s on my list of “books/authors I ought to read,” but I’m a little hesitant. He might be too sci-fi for me… but I’m not really sure what “too sci-fi for me” is! I have one of his books on a shelf waiting. Maybe next year.

    All the best with the final edits, Jennifer. Have a wonderful Christmas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

