Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

16 Comments

WUWApple2

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Finishing another half finished series. ASUNDER by Jodi Meadows. Awesome concept and there be dragons!

Also, in honor of Banned Books Week, I’m reading a frequently challenged book from my TBR-shelf: STAYING FAT FOR SARAH BYRNES by Chris Crutcher. I’m only a few chapters in, but enjoying it so far. I really like the MC, Eric.

Since this week is the official start of fall, SummySeries is technically over (although I didn’t finish my TBR-list and am still plowing through it) and I wanted to give a quick round-up:

I read 24 books! Woo hoo! I didn’t even realize it was that many until I went back and tallied them all up.

Some were fantastic, like POINTE by Brandy Colbert. Such a haunting and heartbreaking book. GONE GIRL was a good read, too, even though I figured out every twist way in advance. I’m either lucky, clever or as diabolical as the characters. Maybe a little of each? 🙂

A few (not mentioning names) were so-so – nothing was wrong with the writing or plot, but I just didn’t connect.

One was flat-out awful – bad writing, stilted dialog, cardboard characters, poorly plotted and completely beyond the realm of any reality, Again, not mentioning any names, but I will say it was an adult bestseller with a ton of 5-star reviews, so I guess I’m in my own little corner. No matter. I am enjoying my little corner.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Jules. No surprise. BUT, I am very close to finishing. I wrote an emotionally tough chapter this past week and I have two to work on this week. After that it should be smooth-sailing. Knock on wood.

WHAT WORKS FOR ME

My laptop is old and my battery only keeps a charge for about an hour, which is frustrating, but I use it to my advantage when I’m writing.

I start off sitting on the couch or bed and I work. If I’m having one of those stare-blankly-at-the-screen days, then it’s a relief when I have to get up and plug in my computer.

If I’m on a roll, then I continue on at my desk but not without taking a few minutes to stretch, walk around, and rest my eyes.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

My contract was renewed again so I’m celebrating five years at my job. And I say this every year, but quitting the 9-5 was THE BEST decision I ever made.

Happy freaking out because my Orioles have such a good record they’ve already clinched a spot in the upcoming playoffs. Other than squeezing in a few years ago in a wild card spot, my Birds haven’t been there since I was in high school. There were many (MANY) frustrating years between then and now.

The hubs and I went to a Taste of the Town where local restaurants offered samples of their menu. It was close enough to walk, so we wandered down, bought many confections and wandered back to our apartment to eat them. One was a chocolate mint cookie that was incredibly YUM. It was from a coffee shop, also within walking distance, and I envision myself eating many cookies in the future.

Later today I’m going to watch Jaws at the movie theater!!! It’s one of my favorites and I’m completely psyched to be able to see it on the big screen, especially since it came out before I was born.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

16 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Ooooh, I went to see Jaws in the theater once! It was exactly as awesome as I’d hoped… I hope you have the same experience! 🙂

  2. So glad to hear you are almost finished with JULES. I hope your computer lasts long enough to see it through.

  3. That’s an impressive amount of books you read this summer! I wanted to get a lot more read than I did. Oh well.

    I find getting up to stretch or take a tiny break is often the jolt my brain needs when I’m stuck too. I’m a slow writer and need many of those jolts lol.

    Have fun watching Jaws! I saw it when I was little and my parents said I could only stay up to see it if I agreed to watch it in the dark. Meanies! It still freaks me out a little.

    Good luck finishing up your work on JULES!

    • Awww…that IS mean! I can remember my parents sending me and my older brother out of the room so they could watch Alien. I could still hear it, though, and the things I imagined were just as scary as the actual movie 🙂

  4. It makes me wonder when I read books by bestselling authors that just aren’t very well written. I mean, if you’re a bestselling writer, at least give me a well-written book, even if I don’t like the story!

    I was alive when Jaws came out. And Star Wars. And Alien. I was in single digits, but old enough to remember the playground conversations and the hype. I was too young to see them (well, Jaws and Alien, anyway), but my curiosity was piqued. 🙂

    Have a great week, Jennifer–especially with finishing JULES!

    • Exactly! I don’t mind if I just think the story is blah, but when the book reads like a rough draft, I don’t get it.

      I was alive for Star Wars Empire and Return of the Jedi and I can remember watching them on the VCR. But I didn’t see the original until they re-released it in theaters in the 90s. That was a fun experience. I didn’t see Alien until I was an adult and by then I knew about the “scary” part, so I wasn’t at all shocked. I was disappointed to be spoiled – I bet watching it back in the day was scary.

  5. Congrats on getting close to the Jules finale!! Go you!

    And The Taste of the Town sounds like a ton of fun. I love things like that. And tasty cookies within walking distance?! Hells yes.

    Also congrats on getting your contract renewed again. Quitting the 9 to 5 was one of the best things in the world for me too. And when I was still kind of on the fence, hearing from people like you in Blog-Land (real place) who had made it work, was a real inspiration. Annnd you probably didn’t even know you were an inspiration. So a long overdue “Thanks” for that!

    p.s. Hope you have a ton of fun on your camping trip. Disconnecting for a while is sooo liberating.

  6. I’d love to see Jaws again, especially in 3D–that would be scary.

    My laptop is also old and I use it in spurts when I want to sit in different spots.

  7. Congrats on 5 years at your job, Jen! *hugs you for the oldie laptop* And glad you enjoyed Gone Girl. I have to say…bestsellers are so so subjective. Actually to be honest, reading in general is so subjective. What I LOVE so much you might find really boring. Good luck with your writing this week!

  8. Congrats on your contract renewal, and I totally understand on the book thing. There are some titles people absolutely adore that I could barely stomach, and some I’d sell my bacon for that get nasty reviews. People are weird, right?

Leave a Reply

