Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

22 Comments

WUW TreeWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

I FINALLY got around to reading a series before SummySeries ended! Right now I’m working my way through DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT by Laini Taylor. It would go a whole lot faster if I didn’t have “help.”

IMG_20140902_180830

WHAT I’M WRITING

Working on yet another round of JULES’ revisions. I’m hoping to have this one done by the end of September. I’ll eventually dive back into the query trenches.

Earlier this week I signed up for YA Buccaneers Fall Writing Bootcamp to help me meet my goals.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Firefighters. People who walk their dogs. See “the bad” below.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

It has been awhile since I last did a WUW, so bear with me, this’ll be long.

THE GOOD:

Sharks and tornadoes and Ian Ziering, oh my!

My younger bro and I watched Sharknado 2 and it was as glorious as we’d hoped.

I don’t want to wait…

I watched Dawson’s Creek (for the first time) and it was so hilariously cheesy that I spent most of each episode reading online recaps and laughing myself to tears. I’ve made it about halfway through season 1 and I’m sad(?) that Netflix is taking away the soapy goodness later this month. Why, Netflix, why???

And in my opinionation

I’ve been re-watching Blossom on the Hub Network. It’s another slice of 90s nostalgia and how did I not notice the horrible continuity errors when I first watched it? 

And how could I have forgotten Joey Lawrence’s brief music career??? (you’re welcome) 

Or the angst that was Blossom/Vinnie. They’re ridiculous. Seriously.

Despite all the issues, the show did do some things right, most notably recognizing that teen girls were people, too, and they had periods (whoa!) and sexual urges (WHOA!) and all kinds of grown up feelings. They didn’t just sit around demurely waiting for a man to swoop in and make her Mrs. Man. So yay for that.

Into every generation a slayer is born

I FINALLY finished watching Buffy and Angel and it only took me six months! The bulk of the watching time was for Buffy seasons 6/7 which were my least favorite. The early seasons were full of camp, 90s nostalgia, friendship, witty remarks and all the feels. The later seasons were darker, which wasn’t an issue (there were some stellar season 5 eps); it was the fact the darkness turned into depressing drag.

Season 4 was my least favorite of Angel (cringe-worthy hook-up storyline). Overall, I liked the series, even though I didn’t particularly like Angel himself. If the rest of Angel Investigations wasn’t around, I wouldn’t have been able to keep watching because I can only taking so much brood.

But wait, I did more than watch TV this summer!

I ate lots of garden veggies (and even helped pull weeds from aforementioned garden. Well, like once or twice I did that).

I spring (summer) cleaned.

I had lunch with my grandmother and her husband when they were briefly in town. It was lunch, but my younger bro and I both ordered breakfast.

I played pool. Note: I suck.

I watched a deer wandering around near my apartment:

IMG_20140724_195159

I discovered a book house on a walking trail in town! Cute, huh?

20140730_141710

And now onto…

THE BAD:

Last Wednesday I had just logged back into work after lunch when someone pounded on my door. I opened it to find a woman that works in the doctor’s office on the other side of my building.

She said, “You have to get out, the building is on fire.”

I said, “Oh. Shit.” (my actual words).

Then I pushed my sleepy, bewildered cats into their carriers, jammed my feet into shoes, grabbed my bag/keys/phone, and rushed outside. Sure enough, there were flames shooting from the roof of the other end of the building.

Long story short:

My apartment is fine. So are two others.

The doc’s office sustained water damage (ruined carpet, partially collapsed ceiling).

Another apartment had minor smoke damage.

The fifth apartment (where it all started) was partially destroyed.

The cause was an improperly disposed of cigarette. From what I’ve heard, it was flicked out into the rain gutter. You know, that place where leaves and other debris (kindling) collect.

I could rant for an hour (I have ranted, to family and friends), but now I’ll refrain and say I’m grateful to the woman walking her dog who saw the smoke and alerted the doctor’s office and I’m grateful to the fire department who responded so quickly.

Also, a PSA: make sure you have an emergency plan/kit. I’ve had “make a kit” on my to-do list for years, and it just got bumped to the top.

The thoughts (or lack thereof) that go through your head in a situation like this are weird. After “Oh. Shit.” I went into robot emergency mode. Shoes/cats/keys/get out. I didn’t even think about grabbing photos or keepsakes until after I was outside, even though I have thought about (in the abstract way that I’m sure most of us have) what I would grab in the event of a fire.

I later discovered I hadn’t logged out of the work server but I HAD turned off the music I was listening to. No clue why. I don’t even remember doing it.

It was a disorienting situation in the middle of the day and I can’t imagine how much worse it would have been in the middle of the night.

I’ll say it again – I’m grateful to the people who helped and I’m grateful no one was hurt. This could have been a whole lot worse.

Additional PSA: Stop smoking. It’s gross.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

22 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Oh wow, that sounds super-stressful! Glad everything turned out OK!

  2. I agree with you about the last two seasons of Buffy, they were a challenge to get through. I loved the series overall though. And yes, we watched some Dawson’s Creek on Netflix at one point, and it really was painfully hilarious.

    So scary about the fire! I am glad to hear you (and your cats) are OK!

  3. Dawson’s Creek! I LOVED that show when I was in high school. {Joey + Pacey = Forever} But yes, super, SUPER cheesy! So glad you and your apartment and your kitties are okay. That fire must’ve been terrifying! Hope you have a wonderful (and safe!) week!

  4. What a crazy afternoon! So glad to hear you and your apartment are still standing. Love the little book house. So cute!

  5. Yikes, fire. It’s one of my biggest fears. I’m so glad no one was hurt and your apartment wasn’t damaged.
    On a lighter note- I used to LOVE Dawson’s Creek. I’ve watched the whole show through at least twice. One of these days I’m going to rewatch.

  6. I’m glad no one was hurt in the fire.

    I gave up on my Buffy rewatch. I just couldn’t deal with all the angst. What I tolerated as a teenager irritated me beyond belief as an adult. It’s funny how we change.

    Good luck with your revisions!

  7. I can’t believe some irresponsible prick did that! Glad you’re okay, and your cats and apartment as well. Your round up of summer shows brought back so many memories. I adored Blossom when i was a kid, one of my favorite shows. And Dawson’s, ugh, I couldn’t stand that guy, it was always about Pacey and Joey for me. I watched Buffy and Angel religiously. Now all i want to do is go back and rewatch all of them!

    • I loved Blossom so much back in the day, too, and hadn’t seen it since it first aired. I was surprised by how much I remembered. I’m still in the first season of Dawson’s and he (and his fluffy hair) are all about Jen, and Joey/Pacey merely tolerate each other. I’m looking forward to the angst 🙂

  8. Oh my gosh! So glad the fire wasn’t worse! I think I would have reacted in the much the same way: autopilot. I definitely would have thought of my kitties first before anything else. Again, so glad your apartment is fine! (And you, too, of course.)

    I laughed out loud at your WHOAs. Too funny! I’m sort of afraid to click on the Joey Lawrence link. Okay, I’m doing it… And I’m back. Whoa(!) that was cheesy! I tried watching Dawson’s Creek on Netflix some months back and only made it through the first episode, it was so flipping cheesy. I was in high school in the 90s, but I sort of feel like I dodged a bullet by not getting sucked into that show lol.

    Hope all is going well with your JULES revision. Have a great week! 😀

    • The Joey Lawrence video actually aired on the show – Joey fell asleep and dreamed he was a rock star. Yes, I’m serious 🙂 I was watching through the DVR and could have fast-forwarded through it, but I just couldn’t look away.

  9. Oh, man, so sorry about your apartment! I had a fire alarm scare when my baby was only a couple weeks old, and I am ashamed to say that I just grabbed him and ran down the stairs. I left both of my cats. I didn’t even think of them, I just thought GET THE BABY OUT. I am a terrible person, haha… but at least that scare has reminded me that I need to think of my cat (now singular), too.

    And I am totally checking out that Fall Writing Bootcamp thing! 🙂

  10. Wow! So glad that you’re okay and that your cats are okay and that you didn’t lose all your photos and keepsakes. (Yes, that’s a lot of “ands”)

    We have a “Go Box” in case of hurricanes. (Birth certificates, photos, records, cash, back up of all our hard drives (uber important)) That way we can just grab the cat and the box. (The cat’s first)

    Love the photos! Deer and tiny book houses. Love.

    Also, Netflix binge watching nostalgia….Yes.

    Hope you have a spectacular week, with a little less drama and a mawr Netflix. *grin*

  11. I’m so glad you (and kitties, and home) are okay! Thanks for the reminder–I would honestly not know what to do, or grab, in a situation like that.
    I loved BLOSSOM–and looking back, it was kinda progressive? You’re inspiring me to rewatch. 🙂

    • It’s so funny because the “very special episodes” have a PG-13 voiceover warning at the beginning, but other episodes are casually dropping sexual references and it’s like, wait…what? The show was definitely cutting edge for its time 🙂

Leave a Reply

