Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.WRITE! Final Update

30 Comments

RSWgoldpolaroidA big thank you to these awesome ladies for hosting RSW this summer: Alison, Erin, Jaime and Katy

HOW I DID ON MY OVERALL GOALS

When I started RSW, I wanted to:

Finish JULES revision and send to readers for feedback
While I’m waiting, work on my EMMA rewrite

I DID get feedback on JULES (thank you, readers!) and I’ve started to incorporate that. I didn’t really get around to EMMA, but that’s okay.

For awhile, I was convinced I’d be able to finish JULES in time for PitchWars, but sadly it didn’t happen. I did, however, figure out the issue I was having, so YAY for that. I thought it was the end, but it was actually a spot in the middle that needed to be smoothed out.

My revision is moving in the right direction and I hope to have it done in the next few weeks. Because it’s almost my favorite season ever! Cooler weather and pretty leaves and nostalgia and all that other wonderful stuff that begs me to be outside.

A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED

Banging my head into a wall is pretty much what I did for half the summer, which is frustrating, but it’s kinda what I get for trying to force the words. Since I took a step back, the issues have become much clearer.

THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS SUMMER

See above.

SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP

It sounds weird to say, but I love (and hate) that it’s gonna rip me apart emotionally. The early drafts did that to me, but I drifted away from some of the storyline because it WAS hard to write and I didn’t think I could do it. But I’m prepared to dive in and go where the story takes me, no matter how painful.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

30 thoughts on “Ready.Set.WRITE! Final Update

  1. Aw, that’s too bad you weren’t able to finish in time for Pitch Wars! 😦 WriteOnCon is going on now if you want feedback on your query/250/first 5 though!

  2. High five for cooler weather! Fall is my favorite 🙂 (Well, by the end of winter I always say summer is… but still.) I’m glad you’ve been able to figure out where your WIP issues were.

  3. Fall is the best! Especially in VA with all the gorgeous colors. And even if you didn’t get JULES finished in time for Pitch Wars, at least you’re going to get done soon! There are always plenty of contests in the YA world whenever you’re ready… that’s what I have to keep telling myself so I don’t get too much FOMO… 😉

  4. The hard to write things are the best, most essential things to write. Period. I am glad you are in that headspace for your revision, and I’m glad to hear you broke through your block! You will totally own this!

  5. Gotta love a story that rips you apart emotionally — JULES definitely did that to me too! Congrats on all you accomplished this summer, lady! Best of luck with your projects moving forward… I can’t wait to see where they go from here!

  6. Bummer you didn’t finish in time for PitchWars, but at least you’ve figured out your issues and are on the right track now 🙂 There will definitely be another contest you can enter then–it’s not quite the same as PW, I know, but it could still be something fun and exciting! Good luck finishing soon!

  7. I love how you put this: “But I’m prepared to dive in and go where the story takes me, no matter how painful.” That’s how I feel about my WIP too. I think it’s great that you figured out the issue in your story and that taking a step back brought clarity. Give yourself a big pat on the back for finishing your JULES revision! I’m eagerly waiting for fall to get here too. It’s been cooler lately, so I cracked out the pumpkin chai tea. 🙂

  8. Fall is my favourite season too, though I think I could have used a wee bit more summer this year. I know what you mean about stepping back from a WiP and finding clarity. I’m in a similar boat myself. I think you did really well during RSW this year. Finishing a revision is HUGE! It’s been great taking part in this with you! 😀

  9. Is it weird that I LOVE this: “But I’m prepared to dive in and go where the story takes me, no matter how painful.” I can so relate.

    Thank you so much for joining us for RSW this summer! And so glad you are well on your way to finishing JULES. Keep me posted! And I’ll be emailing you soon. My story needs your eyes!

  10. Wow, I don’t think I’ve written a story that has ripped me up emotionally. I’ve laughed and cried and my latest story was hard to write, but it’s never been quite like that. Good luck!

  11. Bummer about not being able to enter Pitch Wars. I didn’t get my revision ready in time either, but I’d rather wait and have a super polished manuscript. So I think we both made the right choice. Good luck with all your revisions! It’s been fun getting to know you. =)

  12. I think we’ve all banged our heads at one time or another. You still got a lot done during the summer. Glad you got notes back from readers and can make more progress!

  13. Sounds like your RSW was very intense. (And intensive! 😉 ) Great to see you again, best of luck with your writing this fall.

    And make sure to keep whatever material you’ll need ready to stitch or tape your heart back together once it’s ripped apart. (Don’t worry too much about which bit goes where, figuring out that you’ve switched your left and right ventricles is part of the fun! :D)

  14. I’m glad to hear you identified your trouble spot and are moving along. I’m looking forward to fall, too. I saw a few colored leaves fall on my walk yesterday, although I’m guessing we still have some very hot days ahead.

  15. Congrats on finishing Jules and getting great feedback. And I completely know what you mean about needing to step back sometimes and not force the words. Sometimes letting your brain just settle for a while really helps. (Of course this could just be me justifying my slackitude lately) *grin*

    And hooray for Fall!! I love Fall. I’m that crazy person who is already making plans for Halloween. 🙂

    Hope you have a fantastic week!

Leave a Reply

