Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

20 Comments

RSWcloudpolaroidHosted by: Alison, Erin, Jaime, and Katy

HOW I DID ON LAST WEEK’S GOALS

  • Start on revisions! DONE!

I’ve tweaked about 50 pages so far and am slowly making my way to the middle/end which will require some rewriting

MY GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

Keep on keepin’ on

A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED

Love

It’s fun writing about two teens falling in love – the sweaty palms, racing hearts and general all around giddy nervousness.

THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK

I’ve been a bit disconnected from writing as of late. Not burnout exactly, but more of, “There is so much to see and do in the world, I’ll write later!”

Summer does this to me, though, so I’ll keep inching along until Fall Nostalgia inevitably strikes and I go on a writing binge.

SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP

Like I mentioned above: LOVE

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

20 thoughts on “Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

  1. It is fun to write the giddy in love feeling. And you really do that so well! Also, I hear you on getting distracted by all there is to see with summer. However, this week there’s nothing but rain in the forecast. And I predict it’s going to be a heavy cleaning and reading week. :/

    Hope you have another productive week!

  2. Summer does the same thing to me too. I just want to be outside and spending time with the kids while I can! I figure a little bit each day is better than nothing!

  3. Great job on the edits! Keeping on sounds like a good plan! 🙂

  4. If you’re already 50 pages into your revision you can totally be ready for PitchWars! Don’t miss the opportunity!

  5. Great job hitting your revision goals!

    Summer has the opposite effect on me. Because the days are so long, I feel like I have so much more time to work.

    Good luck revising this week!

  6. I’ve been wishing for some of that Fall Nostalgia lately too, especially since it’s been hot here. Keep plugging away at that WIP in the mean time because you’re making good progress! Also, I have to agree that writing about teens falling in love is fun. There’s nothing quite like it! 🙂

  7. I am at about the same point in my revision. I know the middle will require a lot of rewriting, and I am generally looking at every sentence and word even to make sure it says exactly what I want. I feel this is the only way I can approach this book, but at first I didn’t want to, and I didn’t have much time. Instead of barreling through the revision, I am easing into it, taking my time and keeping myself in a chill headspace. Or trying to. I think that’s ok.

    I love writing about falling in love, being in love, being young and in love. Sigh.

    • I’m trying to remain chill, too. Part of me wants to go in there and start hacking and moving around paragraphs, but I know I’ll regret it later when I have to paste everything back in. It’s hard to be patient!

  8. Congratulations on the 50 pages. Try not to think too much about the summer slump. You’ll have a great start when your Fall writing binge begins.

  9. That’s great about the love and starting on revisions. Go, go, go.

  10. Summer has been tough on my productivity, too. There’s been so much going on! I love that your goal is to just keep on. I’m feeling the same way these days. Any progress is good progress for me.

    Good luck this week!

Leave a Reply

