Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

27 Comments

RSWcloudpolaroidHosted by Alison, Erin, Jaime and Katy

HOW I DID ON LAST WEEK’S GOALS

Last week I wrote:

I’m starting to get reader notes back, so I want to read through them and figure out where to go from there.

I read the notes and LOVED the advice/suggestions, especially since my readers were in agreement with several points.

I spent a few days, just thinking. Then one morning I had an a-ha moment so I grabbed a notebook and scribbled down the order of events for my revised WIP. That’s usually how it works for me. I pantster along for awhile making slow progress before BAM, inspiration strikes.

MY GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

Start on revisions!

A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED

The only thing I wrote was a bunch of scribbled notes that only make sense to me. Such gems as:

Oh

More to this

Her rambling

Fighting, parents, him

Wrap up

THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK

Waiting for inspiration. Plus the whole apartment mess thing, but I FINALLY got most of it cleaned up and after this coming weekend, the rearranging of everything should just about be complete.

SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP

The excitement of digging even deeper into my characters’ lives and emotions.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

27 thoughts on “Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

  1. Yay for good critique notes! Always so helpful to see things from the outside. Good luck on your revisions this week! 🙂

  2. Yay! I’m so excited for you to dive in! And I really hope my notes were helpful! If you need me to give a second look to anything or need someone to brainstorm/vent with, let me know. Have a great week, Jennifer!

  3. Haha! I’m glad those scribbled gems make sense to you. I have a bad habit of writing shorthand assuming I’ll know exactly what I meant later on. Only later on it looks like total gibberish! Hope things start out smooth for your revision!

  4. Ha! I love your notes. 🙂 And yay for revisions! Best of luck with them — I can’t wait to hear about what you decide to do with it all! Have a great week, Jennifer!

  5. Your notes look like my notes, so I think they are fabulous. Inspiration ran off from me for a couple weeks, she usually comes back, and she is usually a little drunk when she does.

  6. I’m glad you got some great suggestions! I sometimes wander around thinking about my edits for a day or two, too. Love those a-ha! moments 🙂 Hope this week is productive for you!

  7. Ha. I know those notes all too well. “Add more of this here later” Ha. Good luck with revisions!

  8. Hooray for aha moments! As you know, I had one of those this week too, and honestly, it made up for all of the words I *didn’t* write. 😉 Helpful suggestions that you see the merit in are awesome! Especially when more than one person says the same thing. I’m glad you have some great direction going forward. Hope this is another productive week! 😀

  9. Having a moment of inspiration after thinking on revision notes is a great way to get started! Good luck revising this week!

  10. That’s great about your aha moment! I love it when those happen and I could really use one myself right about now. Your notes made me laugh because mine are pretty hard to decipher too. As long as you know what they mean, right? Good luck jumping into revisions this week and I hope you enjoy digging even deeper into your characters! 🙂

  11. Oh, yeah, if people read my revision notes, they’d think my story made absolutely no sense at all. (Which sometimes feels true, ha!) And spending days thinking can really pay off for when those writing days do happen. Good luck this week!

  12. glad your readers got back to you! It’s always nice to have notes on what’s working and not, makes writing just a little bit easier for us. GOod luck with revisions!

  13. Whoo – good notes! I need to get my crap together and get some stuff out in the world. How will I know if I’m on the right path or going off the rails if no one reads it, right?

  14. I feel so much better after I clean my house.

    I sometimes have no idea what my scribbled notes mean. They usually come back to me, though.

Leave a Reply

