Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

30 Comments

RSWtealpolaroid

Hosted by Alison, Erin, Jaime, and Katy

HOW I DID ON LAST WEEK’S GOALS

Work on those little story issues – IN PROGRESS

I fixed all the formatting problems and I made a few tweaks, but I still need to figure out how to fix the back-end of the book b/c it doesn’t feel *right* to me.

MY GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

I’m starting to get reader notes back, so I want to read through them and figure out where to go from there.

A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED

Confusion.

THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK

Time issues again. Last week I mentioned rearranging furniture for the free couch we were getting. After I moved a few things, I decided I wanted to move EVERYTHING and once you start with a project like that, it kind of takes over. My apartment is currently a giant mess, which makes me anxious, but I’m slowly but surely putting everything into its new place.

Also, just general confusion. (see above)

SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP

The dynamic between Jules and her brother, especially as the story goes on and she realizes that he’s not as sucky as she thought.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

30 thoughts on “Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

  1. Confusion is the worst but hopefully once you work through it, everything falls into place and you love the story more than ever. Good luck with the b/c. If it doesn’t feel right, it’s not. Good luck with it.

  2. Call me crazy, but I miss moving my furniture around! The way my living room is configured, and the furniture we have, there isn’t much we can do to move things around. Good luck with your reader notes.

  3. Good luck with the revision and the furniture rearrangement. I’ve had all of my furniture in the exact same spot since I moved in five years ago. Maybe I should change it up, too.

  4. So, I just finished your fabulous story this morning and YES – that brother/sister relationship arc is one of the things I’ve already jotted down in my THINGS I LOVE notes for you. 🙂 MY TMC story features a pair of twins who have a similar arc and it was really fun to write. Anyhoo – you sound like me with furniture rearranging! But those projects are kind of fun. For me anyway. Not so much my kids and husband. They’re all like, “here she goes again” and then prep themselves for a week of mess. 🙂

    Hope you have a great week, Jennifer! And you’ll be getting notes from me soon!

  5. Yay for brother/sister dynamics! I went there this week too. 🙂 I’m so much the same way with rearranging things and turning it into a much bigger project than intended. Mess and clutter makes me anxious too, so I feel your pain. And, big surprise, I’m staring at the back end of my story as well, knowing full well it needs some serious tweaking. We’re totally on the same page this week! Hope this coming week is super productive for both of us!

    • “…turning it into a much bigger project than intended.”

      That’s it exactly! I meant to move two things and stop, but I just couldn’t do it. I’ve created an unintentional disaster zone.

      I think we are going to kick butt this week with our writing!

  6. Hope you manage to sort through the confusion! (Both furniture-wise and writing-wise!) 🙂

  7. I love rearranging the house! It makes everything feel fresh and different. I hope you get a little less muddled once you get everything in its new place! 🙂 Good luck this week.

  8. Sometimes it takes a lot of tinkering until things feel right, so keep at it! I totally get the domino effect of rearranging and reorganizing projects. It’s like you can’t just shift one thing without dislodging everything else. Good luck with getting your apartment back in order and deciding on a direction after going through your reader notes! 🙂

  9. Good luck with your revisions this week!

  10. Yes! I totally love the relationship between Jules and her brother too. It changes and grows in such a satisfying way. Best of luck working out the confusion. Like I said, I’m more than happy to serve as a sounding board. 🙂

    • I think after I read through all the notes and sit down for a few, uninterrupted hours, I’ll have a clearer idea of which direction I’m going. For now, I’m sneaking in some brainstorming when I’m supposed to be working the day job 🙂

  11. Oh the sneaky “moving furniture” distraction. Once I completely reorganized the pile of goodwill clothes i was giving away, just so i didn’t have to write that difficult scene in my WIP. Distractions come in all disguises. I hope that confusion clears up soon so you can get focused on your writing again.

  12. I seriously think rearranging the house can help you get your story rearranged too. When I get frustrated with a project, I move on to something else, and if I’m able to get that new thing figured out, sometimes it’s like I get on a roll on the original project will fall into place. So keep rearranging furniture until it feels right and then go back to your WIP and do some more rearranging. =) Have a great week!

    • One of my friends used to say this thing about externally organized equals internally calm. Or something like that. I find that’s true – when I rearrange stuff or clean, it always helps me focus.

  13. I think many of us found having the time to accomplish our goal was challenging. Still you managed to fix the issues you set yourself to fix during this week. Have a wonderful week 8 of RSW 🙂

  14. I’m also in the middle of a “hey, let’s figure out what to do with that box” mini project that has morphed into “let’s go through the entire apartment and get rid of everything we don’t want/need.” So I’m escaping to my revisions. 🙂

  15. I had to rearrange my bedroom furniture to accommodate a new bed, which of course turned into CLEANING ALL OF THE THINGS, so I understand that. Hopefully you can get it all over with soon so it doesn’t take over your life and you can get lots more writing done 🙂

Leave a Reply

