Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

30 Comments

Hosted by Alison, Erin, Jaime, and Katy

HOW I DID ON LAST WEEK’S GOALS

Complete a rough draft of a synopsisDONE!

Polish up my querySORTA DONE! It’s written and it seemed okay enough, but I’m going to let it hang out for awhile before I go back and reread

Fix few issues in last 40 pages (combining two chapters, fleshing out other parts, etc.) – NOPE. Not even close. I didn’t even start. Major fail.

MY GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

Work on those little story issues

A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED

I didn’t write/revise, so “…”

THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK

I was somewhat unmotivated because of writing burnout, but I was also busy with other stuff – working, reading, picking green beans from my cousins’ garden, rearranging furniture because someone is giving my husband and me a couch.

SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP

My book is called THE STAINED GLASS SUN AND MOON after two stained glass windows that are in a place important to Jules and Jesse. I can’t actually do this to my own windows because A) I rent and B) I lack stained glass making skills, but I’ve been playing around with colored plastic sheets and cellophane to make my own fake stained (fained?) glass. I don’t have anything to show yet, but when (if) I do, I’ll share a pic.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

30 thoughts on “Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

  1. I totally know what you mean about burnout. I’m suffering from the same affliction, which is why I’m giving myself a break this week. Sort of. 🙂 Hope you have a great one, Jennifer!

  2. I read that part about the stained glass windows the other day! Loved it! Also, no worries on progress – you drafted a query and that’s HUGE. Hope you have a great week!

  3. I love stained glass! When we buy a house, I totally want to incorporate it somewhere. Have you thought of going to antique shops and trying to find old stained glass windows? You can hang them up like picture frames. Anyway, good luck this week! I hope you find some time to recharge and get less burnt out.

    • Good idea! The Shen Valley is chock full of antique shops, so I’ll probably find more than a few 🙂 There’s also a stained glass shop not too far from me and I’ve been thinking about going there, too.

  4. Sometimes you just need a break to recharge. 🙂 Good luck this week!

  5. My husband took stained glass in highschool. It was kind of funny/weird at the time, but I wish he still had access to all the materials – they’re so pretty! Find a highschooler and commission them to make one for you. 😉 Have a great week!

  6. Congrats on finishing up a synopsis and a query (sorta)! That’s so hard to do, so good job! And geez Louise, “little story issues” can be so pesky. Good luck tackling them this week! 😀

  7. I think you got plenty done this past week! I think we’ve all suffered from writing burnout before :/. Usually the best thing to do is give yourself a little break (if you can)! Hope all goes well for you this week!

  8. Stained glass is so pretty. Also, two out of three goals is awesome!

  9. Yeah, if you’re feeling burnt out then stepping back from those last 40 pages was probably a good call. I sometimes wonder if I do damage to my writing when I plow on with a tired brain lol. Great job on getting a drafts of your synopsis and query done though! Neither of those is an easy task! Enjoy that new couch and I hope you spend many happy hours curled up writing there!

  10. I know a lady who did a whole stained glass door- it was gorgeous! Definitely not in my skill set either. =) Good luck w/this week!

  11. Intriguing title, makes me want to read more. I hope this week you don’t feel too burnout

  12. Free couch FTW! I think those little writing breaks help get us rejuvenated for the next round of work. At least that is what I tell myself. :0)

  13. I love the title. Burnout is common and breaks are needed. Good luck on your goals.

  14. I love your title Jennifer! Best of luck with your writing goals and the stained glass. Please do share a pic if you get anywhere with it. I love stained glass so much : )

Leave a Reply

