Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

YA Buccaneers Reading Challenge Update

5 Comments

YAB Read Challenge Bingo

Time to check in for the YAB Summer Reading Challenge. Here’s my progress so far:

Read a biography or memoir:

Read a non-YA book:

I’m currently reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Read a classic (YA or otherwise):

Tiger Eyes by Judy Blume – Moving story and I’m looking forward to watching the movie version soon. This book also reminded me that I should re-read Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret, because it had such a huge impact on me years (and years) ago. I hope it stands the test of time.

Read a book by a debut author:

Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy – Great concept and I enjoyed the now and then format. I didn’t have a problem with the main character’s personality (it seems many people did), except during the beach scene when I was ready to shake some personal growth into her already.

Read a book with summer in the title:

Read a book published in the year you were born:

Read a book with a male protagonist:

FREEBIE! Read a book of your choice:

Re-read a book you disliked as a kid:

Re-read an old favorite:

Read a book that’s been on your TBR a long time:

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver – This is one of those books that makes you think: what would I do in this situation?  Sam’s reactions were very realistic, probably similar to what I would have done at her age. I wanted the ending to be different, but I understood why it couldn’t be.

Read a Printz Award winner:

A Step from Heaven by An Na – I loved the subtlety of the writing and some of the chapters, like “Harry,” were both beautiful and heartbreaking.

Read a book set at the beach:

Read a book with LGBT themes or main characters:

Read a book of poetry or novel in verse:

Crank by Ellen Hopkins – I started it and couldn’t stop. I knew bad things would happen, but I couldn’t look away. It was a painful book and not particularly hopeful, but so realistic and I appreciated that. So many books show addiction as something that happens and then is cured forever. If only. I’ll definitely pick up more of Hopkins’ books in the future.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

5 thoughts on “YA Buccaneers Reading Challenge Update

  1. Omg, love Gone Girl!!! ❤ I just read SHARP OBJECTS for my non-YA novel, so we're both on a Gillian Flynn kick I guess! 😀 SO is just as dark and effed up as GG, so I enjoy it… hehe

  2. CRANK has been on my TBR list for-ever!!! Well, all of Ellen Hopkins books have. Think it’s time to get that one read — I’m in need of a novel in verse anyhow!
    And I really enjoyed GONE GIRL; no idea why I haven’t read her other books yet, they’re sitting right here on my bookshelf!
    Great job knocking off books on your list…I’m so far behind! 🙂

  3. Interesting challenge and it is great to see your progress. This is not something I have heard of before. I hope you are able to get more squares marked off soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

