Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

22 Comments

WUW7What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

I’m taking part in the YA Buccaneers Summer Reading Challenge. There’s a cool bingo board and everything. I’ve marked off a few squares and I’ll try to remember to post a complete update, with brief reviews, on Friday.

I just started GONE GIRL by Gillian Flynn and the characters are already making me feel antsy and apprehensive.

Also, I counted up the number of books on my must-read summer list and there are WAY more than I thought, mostly because I kept thinking of series as one instead of three or however many, so my SummySeries will most likely extend until Christmas. Not that I’m complaining, it has been great catching up on all these books I’ve been meaning to read for years.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I finished my JULES revision! And now she’s off at beta camp for the summer. At some point, I’ll polish my query and stop hiding from my synopsis. Will it be today? We’ll see.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Unplugging for the whole weekend. It’s been a long time since I’ve voluntarily gone two days in a row with no Internet. The last time was probably during a move, which doesn’t count. I know I haven’t where I live now, but back when I was in my beloved apartment (with the hardwood floors and the inexplicably pink-walled office, remember?), I chilled a lot more. I loved sprawling on the floor and listening to records for hours. Because in my mind it’s the 1970s. You dig?

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

My husband and I bought a new (used) car! We’d been sharing the same vehicle for two years which had been more than a little inconvenient at times. It’s actually been an adjustment to have 24/7 access to a car because I’m so used to being stuck at the apartment most of the week, unless the place I wanted to go was within walking distance. 

Enjoying fresh veggies from my cousins’ garden. My cats are also thrilled – I caught my tabby batting around one of the beets.

 Winter 2014 033

Not pictured: green beans, zucchini, yellow squash, and one cute little radish

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

22 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I dig. 🙂

    Congrats on finishing the revision! ANd I hope you enjoy GONE GIRL–that book is addictive. I really can’t wait for the movie.

  2. Good luck with your reading challenge. The fresh vegetables look delicious. You’re so lucky to have a cousin with a garden.

  3. Congrats on finishing your revision, and best of luck facing up to that evil synopsis! 😉

  4. Hubs and I share a car too. We both work from home, so it isn’t that bad during the day, but I always feel bad asking to take the car in the evening if I’m invited out. It is an excuse I use so my friends will pick me up. I hate driving.

    Don’t hide from your synopsis and query! Conquer them!

  5. Gone Girl is mind-blowing. What a book. I loved it, but yet haven’t read anything else by the author. I think I need some down time between her books.
    I’m also doing the Buccaneers bingo– super fun!

  6. Gone Girl is such an amazing book. Really sticks with you 😀

    Congratulations on finishing your book.

    I really should go unplugged for a weekend. I’d probably get a lot done.

  7. I’ve come to the sort of sad conclusion that I will never catch up on all the books I’ve always meant to read. I should probably put myself on some kind of book-buying ban and get sort of caught up. As for GONE GIRL, I was bowled over by it. The characters are not likeable in the least, but the story just made me want to keep reading. Can’t wait for the movie now!

    I hear you on hiding from queries and synopses. They’re probably last on my list of Things I Like to Do Relating to Writing. Wishing you all the luck in the world getting those hammered out! 😀

  8. I almost read Gone Girl but I got scared lol. I’m not sure if I’d like the intensity of it.
    Congrats on finishing your revisions!!!

  9. It really is crazy how addicted to electronics we all are. When I spilled tea on my computer and fried it a while back, I had trouble going 24 hours without it! I’m glad you enjoyed your unplugged weekend. I’m sure that must have been relaxing!

    Hope your betas have awesome things to say about JULES and that you find lots of fun places to go in your new car!

    • I couldn’t believe how many times I reached for my phone without thinking, wanting to look something up. I had to bust out the ol’ trusty dictionary a few times, which I hadn’t done in forever.

  10. Congratulations on finishing and sending off to your betas! Yeah, synopses are evil. Hiding from them may be a good idea. I’ve got to do some more work on mine. 😦

  11. GONE GIRL. UGH. That book ruined my life because it was that good. And that’s all I’ll say for now 🙂

    I know the feeling of being trapped in your home! I don’t have a car, so while I can get around town easily enough between the bus, my bike, and walking, but if I want to go somewhere else like hiking or whatever, I need to convince a friend with a car that they really need to go with me. Congrats on the new (to you) car!

Leave a Reply

