Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

32 Comments

RSWtealpolaroidHosted by Alison Miller, Erin Funk, Jaime Morrow, and Katy Upperman

HOW I DID ON LAST WEEK’S GOALS

Last week I was trying to finish my revisions and DONE!

Then I did a quick read-through and sent it off to readers.

MY GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

Complete a rough draft of a synopsis

Polish my query

Fix a few issues I have with my last 40 pages or so. Nothing major, just combining two chapters and fleshing a few things out. It doesn’t change the ultimate ending, so I’m not too concerned it’s different from the beta version.

A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED

“That doesn’t make it okay.”

THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK

I crammed in the revisions because I needed to get other, non-writing stuff done and I wanted to have it all finished before the weekend so I could unplug for a few days.

It meant I didn’t catch some formatting flubs before I sent off my document to beta readers, but I’m gonna go ahead and blame the document, not me, because everything was fine before I added page numbers 🙂

SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP

I’ll say my main character because I was tagged by Colin to share 5 facts about Jules.

1. She and her twin brother don’t usually get along because she thinks he’s judgmental (mostly because he calls her out on her crap), but she always has his back.

2. She’s good at softball and knows it, but her discipline sucks. Her mind wanders during drills and she’ll blame everything but herself when she has a bad game or practice.

3. She loves to drive, despite the fact she doesn’t have a license.

4. She’d never admit it out loud, but she hates disappointing her parents. And fighting with her brother.

5. When it comes to her mouth, there isn’t an off-switch. She blurts things in the heat of the moment and immediately regrets it. This line pretty much sums up Jules:

My brain was always the last to know.

 

I’m supposed to tag other people, but I can’t remember who has been tagged and who hasn’t, so I’m tagging the entire world.

 

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

32 thoughts on “Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

  1. Consider me tagged. 🙂 Also, I love how flawed yet likeable she is! I had a crazy week last week, but JULES is on my agenda this week and I’m SO excited!

    Good luck with that synopsis (ugh) and have a great week!

  2. I love the details you shared about Jules! Especially that she has flaws, but like Alison said, is still likeable. Tough to do, but it sounds like you nailed it. 🙂 Also, congrats on finishing up your revisions. That’s HUGE! Good luck with the synopsis and query-polishing!

  3. Yay! I loved learning more about Jules… Can’t wait to read this story, Jennifer! It’s my reward for finishing my (beastly) revision. 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful week, lady!

  4. “My brain was always the last to know.” LOVE that line! Good luck with the query, they’re the worst!

  5. I love that last line, too! Good luck with query & synopsis writing!

  6. Great job on finishing the revisions! Love the facts about your MC, and that line! 🙂 Best of luck with the query and synopsis!

  7. Good for you for finishing up! Have any tips on writing a synopsis? That’s something I’m going to have to tackle in another month or so. :/

    • I generally begin my synopsis by writing WAY too much, then I spend a long time cutting it down to short descriptions of scenes that have the most impact on the story. In the past I actually found it kinda helpful for figuring out places in my WIP that could be cut because they weren’t adding much forward progress.

  8. Hooray for finishing revisions! Such a good feeling to send that off.

  9. Nicely done on finishing your revisions! As for formatting manuscripts, what a colossal pain. Last time I did that, it took me forever to get it right, so a few flub ups is to be expected! Good luck with your synopsis, query, and polishing off those last details!

  10. Formatting is the WORST! Such a pain! But easier to get through when you can look at finished revisions, I bet 🙂

    Love your facts about Jules–she sounds like a fun, flawed character. My favourite kind.

    Good luck with the (evil) synopsis!

  11. I bet that’s a weight off your shoulders now that Jules is with your CPs! Exciting! And I love #3 about Jules, she sounds awesome! 🙂 Good luck this week!

  12. Congrats on finishing revisions! Yay! And I love this so much: “My brain was always the last to know.” I want to read about this character!

  13. I hate adding page numbers and 100% feel you there. Also, Jules sounds great 🙂

  14. Yay for finishing revisions Jen!!!!!! 🙂 This post also reminded me that I am also tagged for that 5 things… and will do that tomorrow. Good luck with your goals this week!

  15. You’re on a roll. So inspiring! Congrats on those revisions and good luck with the synopsis and query. Have a good week.

  16. “My brain was always the last to know.” HA. Best description ever.

    Word is really good at messing things up, isn’t it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

