Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

20 Comments

RSWtealpolaroidHosted by Alison Miller, Erin Funk, Jaime Morrow, and Katy Upperman.

HOW I DID ON LAST WEEK’S GOALS

Revise the scene where Jules and Jesse fight in the hall

Done!

Write/revise scenes up to (and including) her hanging out at Roller’s with her brother and his friends

Sorta. I ended up rearranging the order of a few scenes so I never got to the Roller’s part. Note: Roller’s is a pizza place in my imaginary town. The food sucks, but there’s a game room.

MY GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

Write the cafeteria scene

Write the second softball game scene

Try to work on the scenes before the party

A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED

“Maybe we…” I didn’t know what I was trying to say, but whatever it was the words wouldn’t leave my mouth. They refused.

 THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK

I spent an hour working in a minor plot point. The next day I spent an hour taking it out because I realized it didn’t work. #writerproblems

And then there was my whole mini freakout when I couldn’t figure out what the hell was supposed to happen next. I had all these scenes, but the pacing felt screwy. I wanted things to escalate to the point of no return and it just wasn’t happening. BUT after rambling to my husband while he politely nodded to pretend he was listening, I *think* I’ve got it.

SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP

My main character, Jules, is infuriatingly impulsive, but that also means she lives in the moment.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

20 thoughts on “Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

  1. Ooo, now I want to know what your MC was going to say/what the scenario is! 🙂 I also love the little details about Roller’s, especially that the food sucks lol. And oh, wow, can I relate to this: “And then there was my whole mini freakout when I couldn’t figure out what the hell was supposed to happen next.” Uh, yeah. I’m so there with you! Here’s hoping we both figure it out this week! 😀

  2. Haha! I love your biggest challenge story, because that happens to me all.the.time! And then I don’t understand why my husband can’t follow my train of thought the next day when I’ve completely changed my mind and I’m asking him about a new problem. =)

  3. Jules sounds like my kinda girl! Also, talking aloud is one of the best ways I get things done except I probably look crazy sitting outside talking to the guineas, LOL. Good luck on your goals for this week!

  4. Oh dear. These #writerproblems happen to the best of us! 😛 Good luck this week!

  5. Oh, those husband rambles. 🙂 Sometimes I wonder if mine really listens, but even if he doesn’t, it really helps to just talk things out. Sounds like you accomplished that!

    Also, LOVE the line! And while I don’t love your #writerproblems, I can definitely relate. Also, selfish Alison wants you to HURRY UP! I can’t wait to read this!

  6. Ha! I ramble and rant to my husband too. It’s amazing how half-listening husbands make such great sounding boards for story plots lol. Glad to hear your plot issue seems to be sorted out! Good luck with your goals this week! 🙂

  7. I, too, ramble to my husband. I didn’t even realize it was a thing! Haha… Sometimes it does help to talk about it, whether or not they listen.

    Good luck on your goals this week! And your line is like a parenthesis without an end! Gah! Maybe we what?? 😉

  8. What would we do without our husbands (get cats?) My husband surprises me sometimes. He actually will listen and give me an idea and my initial reaction is usually “that sucks” or “that wouldn’t work” Then after thinking about it, I realize he’s right. It’s a double edged sword. Good luck this week. Hope it’s frustration free.

  9. Well done for progress made and goals accomplished, Jennifer! And working for hours on scenes that you eventually toss? Yup–been there! You also mention something I’ve found helpful: talking to someone else about your project. Even if it’s just in the idea stage, this can be a great way to really hone your thoughts and develop the idea. Your friend/sibling/spouse doesn’t even have to say anything. Just verbalizing your thoughts can help you work through them.

    All the best for the coming week and the goals you have planned. Oh, and I’ve tagged you on a blog hop. See today’s post on my blog for details. 🙂

  10. It sounds like you are making progress despite the mini freakout and removing what you did the day before. It think those things might actually be a required part of the process. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

