Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

24 Comments

RSWcloudpolaroidHosted by:

http://alisonmiller20.blogspot.ca/

http://erinlfunk.blogspot.ca/

http://www.jaime-morrow.com/

http://katyupperman.com/

HOW I DID ON LAST WEEK’S GOALS

Finish editing the scenes that happen after the softball game

It took me four days, but I got it done!

Start working on the scenes leading up to the park

Done, although the scenes didn’t end up happening at the park. Funny how things change like that.

MY GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

Revise the scene where Jules and Jesse fight in the hall

Write/revise scenes up to (and including) her hanging out at Roller’s with her brother and his friends.

A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED

“Or a little distracted?” Brit suggested, as we walked toward the dugout. “Forget about Jesse and concentrate on the game.”

THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK

I was stuck on the after-softball scene for a few days because what happens affects pretty much the rest of the story and I needed to make sure it felt “right” before I moved on.

SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP

That Jules’ friends call her out on her BS. No one more than Brit. 

 

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

24 thoughts on “Ready.Set.WRITE! Update

  1. Awesome work on those goals! I’m glad you took your time on those scenes and feel like you’ve set the stage for the rest of the book. I’m sure that feels good. Have a great writing week!

  2. So, now that I know you have a character named Jesse, I’m loving this story more and more. (One of my MCs is named Jesse and the song Jessie’s Girl is pretty much the theme song for my current WiP) Can’t wait to read this!

    Also, sounds like you had a great week! And it’s okay to spend as much time as you need to get something right. I work scenes until they feel natural and REAL. Sometimes that takes me an hour; sometimes a month. 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful week!

  3. Congrats on meeting last week’s goals! I hope you do just as well with this week’s. Fight scenes are always so much fun to work on!

  4. Congrats on all you accomplished this week, Jennifer! And best of luck getting completely unstuck after that big scene. I have that problem too — so hard to move forward after a major turning point. Good luck with your goals in the coming week, lady!

  5. Great job this week! Revisions can be time-consuming, but it’s great when everything starts to come together. 🙂

  6. That’s such an awesome sounding story! Congratulations on getting so much doe.

  7. Good job! You’re off to a running start, especially getting those important scenes in. It’s so tough when they’re pivotal to the story and you need to get them right. Been there! Hope this week is just as productive! 😀

  8. Congrats on meeting your goals this week! Good luck with this week’s goals!

  9. The book I just finished reading had a sports theme, so I’m very intrigued by your story and I like the snippet a lot! And your MC has some good friends. 🙂

    Good luck this week! Also, congrats on getting things done last week.

  10. It’s funny how a story changes as you write and rewrite. This is why I don’t try to plan my stories out too much. You could end up missing out on some key element. Glad you are getting a lot done!

  11. Fight! Fight! You can totally do this. 😀

  12. Nice work on getting a chunk of scenes edited! Sometimes the scenes that take the most work end up being the most rewarding in the end. You know, I’m an obsessive outliner and I find that things like setting still change when I write too. You never know where the creative process will take you once those words start flowing! Hope the writing and revising continues to go well this week!

Leave a Reply

