Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

28 Comments

WUW TreeWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Let the SummySeries commence!

I finished THERE WILL BE BEARS by Ryan Gebhart. I didn’t expect the hunting parts to be so graphic and that was a bit of a turn-off for me, but I enjoyed Tyson’s relationship with his Gramps. I also liked that the grandpa was rough and tumble tough – he reminded me of my own “Pa.”

Currently reading: POINTE by Brandy Colbert. There are sentences/sections that have made my stomach twist and I have a feeling I’ll be haunted by this story for a long time.

I might miss a few WUWs b/c of JULES edits, so here’s a list of what is next in my TBR-stack:

SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY by Julie Murphy

BEFORE I FALL by Lauren Oliver (Yes, I’m FINALLY getting to it, after all these years and I can’t wait!)

My June will mostly consist of YA contemp which is happy making 🙂

I know, I know, I haven’t read any series so far, but patience. Patience.

WRITING

Still working on my JULES revision. I should get this as a tattoo since it has been going on so long.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

I discovered that I write better in the mornings. By “better,” I mean I’m more productive because I feel fresh and not like I just finished day-job stuff and I’m sitting down with my WIP out of obligation.

I’m also trying to “unschedule” myself. My husband has gotten on me before about how I unnecessarily stress myself out with my to-do lists and he’s right. Hear that, honey? YOU ARE RIGHT. So I’m trying to be chill this summer and hopefully it’ll carry over to the fall and beyond. Not to say I won’t still have my desk calendar because I have a terrible memory. I can leave the apartment knowing I have to stop at the post office a few blocks away and by the first stop sign, it has already slipped my mind. My mom is the same way, so I get it honestly.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I strained my hip flexor doing yoga. Boo! I’m better now, but I think I’m giving up on yoga once and for all. I’ve tried to force myself into liking it for years, but I just don’t. I think it’s because I’m fidgety and incapable of shutting off my brain, so I never truly relax. I’d much rather kick or punch things or cardio myself into exhaustion 🙂

Attending my younger brother’s high school graduation. My baby brother is a high school graduate. *gets teary*

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

28 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I often find writing in the morning is better because I haven’t had the chance to get stressed yet, plus it means that no matter what distracts me, I’ve already got a minimum word count down. But I’m not a morning person at all, so I can’t always manage it.
    Have a great week!

    • I’m not much of a morning person either, but that’s probably why it works for me – I’m half asleep and just concentrating on getting the words down instead of overanalyzing every one like I usually do 🙂

  2. Laughing at your thoughts on “to do” lists. I’m the exact same way. My To Do lists share characteristics with a boa constrictor and are just as likely to incapacitate me.And unless your hubbie reads your blog, you might have to tell him he’s right Out Loud. (scary, I know)

    Congrats on your revision progress on JULES. Don’t get the tattoo.

    As as for Yoga, I firmly believe you have to do exercise you love, otherwise you don’t do it. Play like a kid. Do what is fun. Exercise is for grownups. Grownups are stupid that way.

    Hope you have an amazing week! 🙂

    • My husband does read the blog and he was ridiculously pleased when he saw he was right about something. He actually saved this post as evidence 🙂

      I like the idea of play instead of exercise. When I’m doing something I like, I smile, even when I’m sweating buckets.

  3. POINTE… Yes. Haunting. Loved it, though. And I loved BEFORE I FALL — I can’t believe you haven’t read it yet! Let me know what you think. 🙂 Best of luck with JULES edits. I rooting you on!

  4. I work best in the morning, too. Sorry to hear about your hip flexor. It think you are right to give up yoga if you don’t enjoy it. There are so many ways to exercise, and it’s easier to stick with it if it’s something you like.

  5. Hahhahahaaaaa – that message to your husband totally made me laugh out loud. 🙂

    I’m like that too – I love schedules and can get pretty crazy about sticking to them, even when it doesn’t make sense or when it’s just adding unnecessary pressure. Why? No idea. You’re inspiring me to reassess my schedule!

    Best of luck with your JULES revisions, Jennifer!

  6. I’m a night writer, but I’m always envious of people who are most productive in the morning. Well, I guess I would be too if morning counted as the wee hours after midnight lol. Good luck with those edits and a huge congratulations to your brother on graduating high school!

  7. I can’t do schedules because my working life can be so varied. I just like to write whenever I can 😀 Good luck to you ^_^

  8. I hear you on the neverending revisions. Same boat, right here. Which is why I’m splitting my time between that WiP and drafting a new one. I think it’s keeping me sane and excited about writing. That said, it *is* making the revision take that much longer, though. As for to-do lists, I’m pretty much hooked on them. 😉

    I don’t think I could ever really get into yoga for the same reason you mention. The whole calming your mind thing just doesn’t work for me. I’d rather do something quicker and all-out that still allows me to think about things. Like writing. Have a wonderful week, Jennifer! 😀

  9. I schedule myself like crazy too and I have to write EVERYTHING down or I forget. (In fact, I was just starting to feed my youngest lunch today when I remembered that I was supposed to send Oreo’s with 3rd daughter and forgot so we had to run them over. D’oh!) I try not to let to-do lists stress me out because frankly, I need them.

    • “I try not to let to-do lists stress me out because frankly, I need them.”

      I need to remember this because it’s true for me, too. Not having the lists makes things worse because then I feel bad I forgot to do something or I spend way too much time thinking I’m forgetting something.

  10. Yikes. I hope you recover soon. I’m a fan of punching things for cardio too. As far as revisions go, I do feel like I’ve been working on the same thing forever. I get sick of the same updates but at least I’m keeping at it. Good luck to you!

  11. I need notes for everything too. I even email myself reminders in huge capital letters and asterisks and still forget! I like your June YA contemp reading plan. I’m catching up on a lot of YA I’ve missed too : )

  12. I feel the same way about writing in the mornings. Now it’s just a matter of forcing myself to do it. 🙂

    Ugh, why do baby siblings grow up so fast? Baby Bro is graduating from high school next year, so right now he’s thinking about college applications and things like that. NOOOOOOO not okay 😦

  13. I write late at night or early in the morning, not so much in the middle of the day.

    I loved Before I Fall.

    I tried yoga and never really got into it.

  14. I loved POINTE–and it still haunts me, months after I finished it. Such a good book, and such an intense book.

Leave a Reply

