Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

31 Comments

Alien3What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

I recently won THERE WILL BE BEARS by Ryan Gebhart and I’m looking forward to reading it. I just placed it in my ever-growing stack of summer reads.

And I just finished MEMOIRS OF AN ORDINARY GIRL: FRESH-MEAT YEAR, which is the sequel to the Middle-ish Ages, the book I mentioned a few weeks ago, about the girl moving from California to Virginia during 8th grade. FRESH-MEAT YEAR comes out this Friday and the author, Terri Klaes Harper, will make a blog tour stop here next Wednesday.

(cover from the author’s website)

Memoirs of an Ordinary Girl Fresh-Meat Year

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m in the middle of a JULES revision based on feedback I’ve gotten from a few agents.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

See above.

You guys, I am in love (IN LOVE!) with my book again. It’s such a fantastic feeling.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

My mom and I walked a 5k! And it was fun! It was a small-town version of the much larger Color Run and people stood at intervals, tossing what looked to be powdered chalk. My mom and I passed a giant purple blob and she said it looked like someone beat up Barney the Dinosaur. So of course we had to go back to that spot after the race and pretend like I was that someone:

20140517_100930

Watching a local production of Little Women – the Musical. The girl who played Jo was wonderful, but the play overall was a bit odd for me, I think because I’m used to huge ensemble casts and big, fun songs. If you’ve read LITTLE WOMEN, you know it’s a bit of a downer. Plus, the play never told what happened to Mr. March. One minute Marmee was off to nurse him back to health and then…what? The poor man never got another mention.

Making a playlist of summer songs. I’ve got some of the obvious ones like Summertime by DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince, but I need more because I only have about an hour’s worth of music and I want something that’ll last me at least half the workday.

If you have any suggestions, I’m all ears!

Ears. Get it? Har Har 🙂

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

31 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Being in love with your book…priceless!! Congrats on getting such great feedback from agents.

    And hah! Beating up Barney…where were you when I needed you?!! When my nieces were obsessed with the Big Purple Beast and I was forced to listen for hours on end. I considered committing seppuku with a bendy straw.

    Hope you have an amazing week! Good luck with Jules!! 🙂

  2. YAY for agent feedback, Jennifer! That’s so cool. 🙂 You know as well as I do that anything more than the standard form rejection is a positive. I hope these agents have invited you to requery after revisions. 🙂

    Congrats for completing the 5k. Sounds like you had fun.

    Have an awesome week!

  3. LITTLE WOMEN is my favorite classic! That’s so cool that you got to do the color run!

  4. Glad to hear you are feeling positive about your book and that you’re getting some good feedback. The color race sounds fun!

  5. I’m excited about this agent feedback you’ve mentioned, and even more excited to read JULES! Love the photo of you whipping poor Barney. Sounds like you and your mom had fun. Have a great week, Jennifer, and best of luck with that revision!

  6. Ever-growing stack of summer reads? I don’t know anything about that. 🙂

    Congrats on the 5K! And yay for refalling in love with a story! Good luck with the revising!

  7. I love Little Women but I didn’t know they made it into a musical. Strange.
    That feeling of falling in love with your book all over again- it’s awesome!
    I’m wracking my brain for summer songs. I’m sure as soon as I listen to my playlist a song will come on that’s perfect, but I can’t think of any off the top of my head!

    • I had no idea it was a musical until a few weeks ago, but apparently it was on Broadway and everything. Not a story I would ever think, “Hmm…it’s *okay* but it’s missing something…oh, songs! That’s it!”

  8. That’s awesome you got some agent feedback! 🙂

    Some of my summer songs are:
    “Boys of Summer” (I like the Ataris version better)
    “California” by Phantom Planet (which doesn’t specifically mention summer but it FEELS summery to me)
    “Doin’ Time” by Sublime
    And anything with banjos. Banjos are for summer 🙂

  9. Yay, it’s the best feeling when you’re in love with your own story! 🙂 Good luck with the revisions!

  10. Hooray for getting agent feedback! That’s so exciting. Good luck with your revisions!

  11. Hi, Jennifer! That color-walk looks fun. I love chalk! I’d be tempted to start trying to make pictures with it on the track.

    Happy to hear how much your love what you’re writing. That’s the best feeling!

    I have a 60-song summer playlist I made. It’s fun fun! Not sure what kind of music you’re into (my taste is eclectic–I can listen to anything except every-other-word-is-foul rap and screaming heavy metal where I can’t tell the lyrics “sung” ha). I’ll email you the list of songs!

    Happy reading and writing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

  12. Erin and I saw a LITTLE WOMEN musical that absolutely butchered the original story. Since we grew up reading that book our mom, that book has always been special to us, and so we were seriously peeved about this crap musical. I wonder if it’s from the same script as the one you saw?

    That’s fantastic that you’ve fallen in love with your story again. 😀 And great that you have some agent feedback to work with. I think it’s wonderful when they take the time to give you a little bit of feedback anyway. Have an awesome week, Jennifer!

  13. I see that Jaime has already passed along our experience with an awful musical version of LITTLE WOMEN. Even my son, who’s only ever seen the movie, said it was terrible and deviated from the story too much. At one point the March girls were belting out some song about being greedy for money. What the heck? And the guy playing Laurie looked like Robert Pattinson, which was distracting and way too hilarious. I’m okay with artistic interpretations, seeing as I’ve considered doing a modern retelling of Little Women, but the gist of the story at least has to be there. Is it all right for me to find it funny that you had a similar experience?

    That Color Run looks like so much fun! Good for you for walking the 5k. I’m a walker, not a runner, and I should really being following your example, but I usually end up just cheering instead.

    It’s great to hear that you’re in love with your story again! Hope the revisions continue to go well! 🙂

    • “And the guy playing Laurie looked like Robert Pattinson, which was distracting and way too hilarious.”

      LOL!

      I’d love to read a modern retelling of Little Women. Lifetime did a version a few years ago and I don’t remember thinking it was awful. Of course, I don’t remember much of anything about it, so that might say something, too 🙂

  14. YAY for being in love with your book! What a magical feeling. I vacillate between wanting to smoosh my own with my face and wanting to burn it and cry on its ashes. So, yeah, you can probably tell how my own writing’s going…

    I did the Colour Run in Melbourne last year, and had sooo much fun! Although it wasn’t pleasant washing all the powder from inside my ears and under my nails, yulch.

    Best of luck with your revisions, Jennifer – have a wonderful week!

  15. Very Exciting to be in love with your story again and revising on feedback from agents! YAY! Hoping for very good things for you in the future. Love that you said you walked a 5k. I have done one 5k, and while I ran for big chunks of it, I regretted it the next day.

Leave a Reply

