Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

25 Comments

RobotWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Soon to be a lot because my library is having their Adult Summer Reading program again. And, more importantly, it’s almost SummySeries* time! 

I’m working on my “must read” list and there are so, so many books on it that I may be reading non-stop until the end of 2014. I can live with that.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Working on a MASSIVE rewrite of an old book. This one is named EMMA. Maybe one day she and JULES can be BFFS.

Speaking of JULES, I never told you all the actual, real title and I probably should since I’m querying:

THE STAINED GLASS SUN AND MOON

And here’s a brief description:

Sixteen-year-old Jules struggles to find a good balance between her boyfriend, friends, family, and softball, but the harder she fights to hold on, the more she realizes that maybe she can’t have it all.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Last week I watched my brother’s high school perform Shrek and there was a really great moment at the end, when the cast was taking their bows and singing/dancing along to “I’m a Believer.”

For anyone that has ever been in a play, you know what I’m talking about.

For those who haven’t: basically, you are so in the zone during the performance, so busy concentrating on cues and costumes changes, etc., that the reality doesn’t hit until you’re taking bows and the crowd is cheering.

Then it’s like HOLY CRAP, WE JUST DID THAT AND WE ARE THE MOST AWESOME PEOPLE WHO HAVE EVER LIVED!

Especially on opening night (when I went) and closing night. Opening night has a little extra energy because of nerves, and closing because it’s the last time that particular cast will be together. That’s when everyone hugs and freaks out because they can’t believe it’s over, and OMG THIS WAS THE MOST AMAZING EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE, but on some level everyone is relieved because you’ve spent so much time together over the past few months that you’re sick of each other’s faces.

But even those negative feelings are sorta awesome because you all worked your butts off and it was completely worth it. And when the next play rolls around, all you remember is the fun and you’re ready to do it all over again.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Sweating. Holy summer, Batman! There were a few days last week when it was 90 degrees. And I don’t care if it’s humid heat or dry heat (for the record, Virginia has humidity. Plenty of it), when the temp is that high, it’s just flat out hot. End of story.

*SummySeries is only a real thing to me. It started in June 2010 when I decided it was about time I finally picked up Harry Potter. Since then I’ve used the summer as an excuse to stay indoors, huddled by the A/C, while I catch up on series I’ve slacked on or missed entirely. I’m super excited about my next few months of binge reading.
Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

25 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I used to be in a drama group (though I never played a lead role), and I remember those feelings! It was so exhausting and exhilarating at the same time.

    THE STAINED GLASS SUN AND MOON is a great title! Best of luck with the querying! 🙂

  2. I love the real title of JULES. So pretty and evocative. Best of luck with the querying, Jennifer — I hope you have good news to share soon! We’re dealing with lots of heat and humidity here in FL too. Feeling thankful for my air conditioner which, as a native Pacific Northwesterner, I’m not used to having. Such a treat! Stay cool, lady!

  3. Enjoy your binge reading. It has been hot, but I guess that’s spring for you in VA. Glad you enjoyed the play. I’ve never seen that one, although I’ve seen the Shrek movies.

  4. Love your SummySeries thing. What a great idea! Without really meaning to, I’ve kind of been getting caught up on all the need-to-be-read books on my shelf. I’ve sort of turned a blind eye to all of the books coming out in 2014 while I get a big caught up. Though, let’s be honest, ‘getting caught up’ will never happen in my lifetime. Enjoy the binge reading!

    I LOVE your book’s title, Jennifer. So good! Good luck with querying. And have a great week!

  5. Hey there, fellow querier! Nice to know I’m in good company. 🙂 As I contemplate projects to keep me away from the inbox, one I’m considering is an old project that needs a lot of editing–close to a complete re-write, but there are some good bits in it worth saving. Not sure, though. I like the real title to your QIP (Query In Progress).

    And I know what you mean about the warmth. I’m in the state downstairs from you, and the temps have been hovering around 90 for the past week. I think we’ll get a bit of a break next week with some 70s, but still–what happened to Spring?! Have a wonderful week, Jennifer. 🙂

  6. I totally know that stage feeling- I’ve been in a few musicals in my time and reading what you wrote about opening and closing night makes me miss it! You should totally write a book about that, just sayin’.
    Good luck with the querying!

  7. I love the title of your book! It’s so vivid! I hope the querying is going well despite how nerve-racking it can be. I wish I could’ve seen your brother’s Shrek performance! Sounds like it was fun to watch! I mean it’s Shrek, so it has to be, right? Have a super week! 🙂

  8. That is super cool about the play 🙂 I can imagine it feels amazing. And good luck with your querying!

  9. Hooray for binge reading! And I love it that you make up your own summer reading-related holidays. #TeamSummySeries (it’s catchy/catching)

    And I completely know what you mean about that final curtain bow. I’ve gotten to experience that thrill a few times and it is such a rush.(I was in a small performance art Circus for a while…long story) But, I so love it when a whole group of people can collaborate on something imaginary that most people would *not* consider practical. i.e. Stay up all night painting sets and making costumes, etc. It’s a side of life that is rare and brilliant.

    Oh and before I forget to say so, I LOVE your official title for JULES. Crosses every digit for you for luck. You are such an amazing person, that I think you are going to have several people realize they want your book all at the same time. If I were an agent, I’d sign you in a heartbeat. (And I’ve only gotten to read snippets of your work) 🙂

    Hope you have an amazing week!

  10. That’s a great title! And I agree, holy summer! I’m in Richmond and it has been ridic hot this past week. I loved it yesterday–cloudy and in the lower 70s. Our AC broke last Wednesday, too, so we had a free-standing unit that our apt complex loaned us and it could NOT keep up with that heat. Ugh. But it’s all fixed now, finally, so bring on the hot temps!

  11. I like to think of characters of different books being friends.

    I love summer reading. That’s when I read a lot while basking in the air-conditioned indoors.

  12. There was a sort of similar feeling in marching band. Especially field show, because it just took so much more work to pull off than parade! Spending time together over the summer and getting sunburned like crazy at band camp, practicing in the mud when the rain inevitably started in the fall, almost freezing to death together, wishing so hard for the one time a judge will forget to get out of the way on the field so you finally have the satisfaction of running one over…Now I’m feeling all sorts of nostalgic.

    A/C in these parts is a beautiful, mysterious myth.

    • Band camp sounds fun (minus the sunburn). I’ve been SOOOO nostalgic lately because my brother is about to graduate. I’m “experiencing” all these high school moments all over again!

      • Me, too! My brother is a junior in high school, so that’s how all of his stories are making me feel. (Although he does do a good job keeping me updated on all the teen pop culture phenomenon, so there’s that, I guess.)

Leave a Reply

