Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

18 Comments

Alien3What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

This book, which is hilarious:

Memoirs coverMemoirs of an Ordinary Girl: The Middle-ish Ages by Terri Klaes Harper

(image and description from Goodreads)

Set in the time while the ’80s were fading into the ’90s and the poofiness of hair and shoulder pads was soon to deflate, this coming of age story retells the experiences of Drew Hotchner, an “extraordinarily ordinary” girl, through her possibly wiser and more honest adult self. Drew struggles not only with the unavoidable awkwardness of being in middle school, but also with having to start over again her entire social world after experiencing the culture shock of moving across the country from California to Virginia. Through Drew’s humorous adventures in trespassing, accidental theft, school dances, and throwing punches at her best friend, she must finally learn who she really is.

WHAT I’M WRITING

fireworksI FINISHED MY FINAL READ-THROUGH OF JULES!!!

Now she’s hanging out for the next week or two while I do some agent research and get my first batch of queries ready to go.

*flails*

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Knowing I have an awesome online support group for when/if I have a query freak out. I love that my writerly friends will sympathize with me when the news is disappointing and cheer with me when the news is good.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Panicking because my router died. One minute I had The Internetz and the next I didn’t. Luckily I wasn’t in the middle of some huge, important work thing, but I was still WHAT??? What is happening??? Long story short, I have a new router and all is well.

Another book sale! This one was at my local library. There was a man that was literally dancing around the room, happily humming to himself as he snatched up books. Another had a giant plastic tote and he took up position by the ‘history’ section. I basically had to shove him out of the way so I could look before he took everything. I would post a pic of my spoils, but I already added the stack to my TBR-shelf and the individual books have been swallowed up. On a side note, my husband was greatly relieved I didn’t bring home the flu this time.

I’m headed to a high school musical later this week, the last one I’ll ever watch my brother in because he graduates next month.

Excuse me while I go weep nostalgically because wasn’t he just a baby like five minutes ago???

Anyway…

I am having one of those weeks where it feels like I’m running half a day behind. Hopefully I’ll catch up by the weekend. How is everyone else doing?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

18 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I’m running a half day behind this week, too. Congrats on finishing Jules! You need a major celebration right now!

  2. MEMOIRS OF AN ORDINARY GIRL sounds really good. Love the cover, and love the time period in which it’s set. Also, yay for finishing JULES! I’m so excited that you’re at the querying stage! I feel like I’ve been following this book’s journey all along and I’m thrilled to see it nearly there. Congrats, Jennifer!

  3. Three big cheers for finishing your final read through! That’s awesome, and I hope the agent research is going well.

    I had to laugh at your description of the book sale. You really do have to get assertive because people try to hog certain sections. Glad you found a nice stack of books there!

    Have a great week and good luck with the upcoming querying! 🙂

  4. Welcome to the trenches, and congratulations! I’ll be glad to cheer you along!

    I love our FOL book sales. I always come home with boxes of books that I don’t have room for, and it’s amazing for my kids. They get all the science books that they can’t get at a regular book store.

    • Whenever I read a book and know I’m not going to keep it, I put it in a box and right before another book sale, I donate my have-been-reads. Somehow I always buy back more than I gave away…

  5. MEMOIRS OF AN ORDINARY GIRL sounds a book up my alley. I’m going to have to add it to my TBR pile. Congrats on finishing your WIP. Good luck with querying! Have a great weekend!

  6. Curious Alison wants to know what musical your brother is doing. 🙂 Also, I have a freshman daughter in high school and she’ll be graduating before I know it. Ugh.

    Also, CONGRATS on finishing the final read through! What a great feeling! Good luck with all the things and I hope you have LOTS of success with Jules!

  7. Congrats on your final read-through of JULES!!! Hooray! I’m going to be right with you in the Query Trenches. (a.k.a The Spanish Inquisition) So…if you need someone to commiserate with, I volunteer as tribute. 😉

    And I laughed out loud at your description of the book sale. Totally cracked me up. I am the kind of person who can’t be trusted at book sales. I recently discovered that our Goodwill has a books-only store with a section of absolutely ancient science texts. So guess who brought home a ton of old tomes with cool ink drawings of critters just to infest the whole house with silverfish?! (I’ll give you three guesses)

    And a day behind…I think I’m a month behind. “Wait it’s May? What happened to April? Crap.”

    p.s. For every partial /full request in the Query Trenches you have to a) Do a shot and/or b) Buy yourself a cool present (ice cream and cupcakes count)

    Hope your week is marvelous!

    • I once lived in an old, old house that had been converted into apartments. Our apt had a door that led to the perpetually damp basement, so I know the pain of silverfish 😦

      I like your reward system – I think in a few weeks we will both be drunk and stuffed full of ice cream!

  8. Good luck querying! I hope we get to hear some great news soon 🙂

    And I totally need to show that book to my friend–she moved from California to Virginia, transferring in middle school, right around that same time period. Crazy!

  9. Good luck with those queries!

Leave a Reply

