Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday + YAB Bootcamp Update

25 Comments

RobotWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

THE LOOKING GLASS by Jessica Arnold, which is the same as last week, but I am moving in slow-motion this month.

WHAT I’M WRITING

In keeping with my slow theme, I’m still working on my final read-through. I’m not even making any real changes, but I find myself tweaking the wording on pretty much every sentence, only to eventually change it back to what I had originally.

I know I’m overthinking the whole thing, but I can’t seem to help myself. I should hurry, though, because I’ve decided that my first batch of queries is going out May 16th. That’s my dad’s birthday, so it seems like a good choice to begin the query journey toward eventually potentially good news.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

My mom has the goal of walking a 5k next month and she’s talked me into walking with her. I’ve never done any sort of race before, so I’m excited. Maybe one day I’ll even run a 5k, but I doubt it because I’ve always been more of a sprinter. I think I’d be good at something like a .5k. Big burst of energy and then time to rest. Perfect.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Watching a Challenger baseball game. It was so much fun to cheer all the players on.

Randomly remembering the PBS show “Ghostwriter” that aired during the early 1990s. It’s funny to re-watch stuff after 20 years and see how cheesy it actually was. My 13-year old self thought it was awesome, although I wonder how much of that stemmed from my giant crush on one of the characters?

Watching another so-bad-it’s-hilarious movie on Netflix with my younger bro:

500 MPH Storm

As far as I can gather, an experiment went wrong and it screwed up the Earth’s core and caused a bunch of tornados…or maybe hurricanes…dust storms…lightning strikes? The weather couldn’t make up its mind and the special effects budget seems to have been about $30.

Anyway, a hot air balloon enthusiast and his family drove to the mountains to get to higher ground. At one point they drove THROUGH the storm. Amazing. Balloon-man was also a science expert because the people who screwed up the experiment kept calling him with questions. My brother asked, “Are they just randomly stringing together a bunch of sciencey sounding words?”

Yep. Pretty much.

And that’s as much as I can tell you because I wouldn’t want to spoil the ending.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

25 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday + YAB Bootcamp Update

  1. A querying deadline is a very good idea. GOOD LUCK! 😀

  2. “…tweaking the wording on pretty much every sentence, only to eventually change it back to what I had originally.” <— This is when I know I'm done, at least for the time being. I could make myself crazy going back and forth with word choice! Best of luck with your 5K. Sounds like a fun mother/daughter event. 🙂

  3. Good luck with your read through, Jen!! I used to run 5ks in high school and it was a lot of fun. I was always on the slow side but still there is nothing like the wind on your back and a nice autumn breeze when running. lol maybe I should get back into it!

  4. Best of luck with the read-through and the querying goal! 🙂

  5. Ghostwriter! I loved that show, and it thought it was so cool–now I really want to rewatch (and probably laugh at how much technology has changed).
    Good luck with your readthrough!

  6. I with you in the get-on-with-revisions-so-you-can-get-on-and-query trenches, Jennifer! I was hoping to be ready by the beginning of May, but that didn’t happen. Perhaps mid-May might be a realistic goal for me, too?

    Yay for you and your Mom doing the 5k walk! All the best with that, and all your writing this week. 🙂

  7. I’m not sure if I ever watched Ghostwriter, but I definitely remember hearing about it. I just went to YouTube and watched the opening sequence for the show and it’s *definitely* familiar. Weird. As for bad Netflix movies, I told my husband we should do a B movie marathon sometime. That could be a whole lot of fun and hilarity right there.

    I tend to fiddle with my WiPs, tweaking words here and there, and like Katy, I think this is probably a good sign that it’s done. Good luck with querying! I seem to be moving in slow-motion this month, too. I only managed to finish two books, which is about four books less than a normal month. Hope you’re having a good week, Jennifer!

    • I remembered very little about the actual show, but the theme song is still fresh in my mind – so cheesy and catchy 🙂

      I’ve tried to talk my husband into a B movie marathon but he doesn’t share in the love of so-bad-it’s-good. Crazy man!

  8. I remember GHOSTWRITER! We watched it at school and I loved it! I can remember getting so excited every time the teacher would wheel the TV into the room. Man, I haven’t thought about that show in ages.

    This sounds so familiar: “I find myself tweaking the wording on pretty much every sentence, only to eventually change it back to what I had originally.” I’ve been the exact same way with my revisions lately. I find you kind of get to a point where it’s impossible to keep perspective on how things sound anymore and you start wondering whether it’s better or just different.

    Wishing you lots of luck with the querying! 🙂

  9. That movie sounds like exactly the kind of terrible stuff I love. One thing my husband and I always make fun of is that movie Dante’s Peak. The guy is a volcanologist and as they’re fleeing the volcano, he decides they can totally drive over lava. Because that wouldn’t melt the tires at all. So much for that volcanology degree!

  10. I’m right there with you when it comes to minor tweaks. I always find something new to change, even just some wording here or there, and I fear I’ll never be ready to query!

    Also, I loved Ghostwriter! I walked by open auditions for it one day and was so incredibly angry when my mom said I couldn’t audition. Now I want to check out the cheese factor.

  11. That sounds like a movie I need to watch. Intentionally watching bad movies so I can entertain myself by live tweeting them is one of my hobbies 🙂

    Good luck finishing your read through!

Leave a Reply

