Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

28 Comments

RobotWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

I’m about to start a new book, not sure which one yet, but I’m leaning toward THE LOOKING GLASS by Jessica Arnold.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Still working on my final read-thru of Jules. See two categories down for the reason behind my slowness.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

A few weeks ago I heard about a #NestPitch contest at pretty much the last minute. I frantically threw together my submission and…

I got several requests from agents to read more of JULES!

*happy dance*

 WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Two weeks ago, I was all, “I’m going to a book sale! I will post about it!”

Well, I took a picture of my stack of books, but I have no idea what I did with it because, in addition to books, I also brought home:

THE FLU

And, because I’m nice, I brought enough for my husband! He was so grateful.

I actually didn’t even realize I was sick Saturday night; I attributed the burning in my throat and chest to heartburn from all the cheese fries I’d eaten at dinner. And I chose to ignore my fever and aches for days because when I’m sick, I basically stick my fingers in my ears and chant, “La la la, I don’t acknowledge you!” This meant I continued to work the day job and I even (foolishly) worked out.

I began to crack Wednesday when the sinus pressure started and on Thursday I spent most of the day curled in my recliner, watching Buffy and feeling sorry for myself. I did the same on Friday.

But now I’m back in working order! I’ve had my yearly bout of sick and I should be good until next March/April.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

28 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Aw, sorry you got sick but I’m glad you’re feeling better! And CONGRATS on the requests!! That is so awesome!!

  2. So, requests for more of JULES is very exciting! Yay you! Not as exciting is the flu. Flu is a dirty word in my house.

  3. I’m glad you’re over the flu, Jennifer. I’m not sure I would consider continuing to work out when you’re sick foolish–I suppose it depends on how sick you are. I’ve found that exercise actually helps fight off sickness. I remember coming down with a cold years ago, and a nurse friend of mine encouraged me to keep active as much as possible. Cardio exercise and keeping the blood pumping helps the immune system put up a fight. Obviously, I’m no doctor, so this isn’t medical advice. Just passing on something I was told that seems to work for me. 🙂

    Congratulations on getting agent requests! Very exciting. I hope at least one of these turns into some very awesome news in the near future… 😀

    Have a great week!

  4. Sorry to hear you’ve been sick but happy to hear about the agent requests. Good luck!

  5. Sorry you got sick! I tried ignoring my last cold/flu–didn’t go so well. 😦 Glad you’re feeling better!

  6. Sorry to hear you’ve been so unwell but HOORAY for requests! That’s fantastic news ^_^

  7. Congrats on all the requests! That’s fantastic, Jennifer! 😀 I hope something wonderful comes from it. That stinks that you were so sick, but I’m happy to hear you’re up on your feet again. Have a great week!

  8. Congrats on all the requests! Hope you recover from flu soon.

  9. Your Nest Pitch submission wasn’t in the group that I was assigned, but I was SO rooting for you, and I was all ready to take another slushie down if they marked your pitch as a no. 🙂 Congrats on all the success you had with it, though I’m not at all surprised! Have a great week, and best of luck with those agents that are reading your work. Fingers crossed!

  10. Good thing you decided to enter #NestPitch at the last minute! I hope something exciting results from all those requests! On the flip side, that stinks about getting the flu. Happy to hear you’re back to your old self though!

  11. CONGRATS on the requests! No congrats on the flu. That’s horrible! I hope you’re feeling MUCH better and that these requests lead to something wonderful!

  12. Congrats on the requests!!! That’s so exciting!

  13. Okay first of all, YAY for agent requests for Jules!!!! That is so exiciting!

    And second of all, boo for the flu. I like your fingers in the ears “la la la” approach, because I’m pretty sure if you can’t see viruses, they can’t see you. 😉

    Glad you are feeling better though. Hope your week is marvelous and virus free. 🙂

  14. I’m glad you feel better and good luck with those requests.

Leave a Reply

