Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

26 Comments

WUW TreeWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Still Obasan. I’ve really slacked on reading so far this year, which sucks. There’s always this summer for some marathon reading sessions.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Filler words. I discovered a sentence with the word TIME in it three times. What? How?

BUT…

BUT!

I finished cutting all the filler!

Now I’m doing my final read-through.

When I’m done, I’m seriously going to throw myself a party where I do nothing but eat cake and stare mindlessly at the TV for half the day. I’ll take breaks for salty snacks and games of Candy Crush. It’ll be wild.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

The thought of being done with my read-through (hah)

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I’ve made it to the fourth season of Buffy, which is the same time the first season of Angel started, so I’m watching like it’s 1999. One ep of Buffy, followed by one ep of Angel. Two birds, one stone.

I’m planning to go to a giant book sale this weekend. If I find anything good, I’ll post my spoils in next week’s post.

At this very moment, my husband is reading my blog and shaking his head over the book sale news.

Speaking of the hubby, the other day we were wondering if square dancing in gym class was a general requirement across the country in the 1980s/90s or something specific to the southern part of the U.S.? It was imperative we learn the Virginia Reel. At least in class. I’ve never once used this skill in real life.

I have, however, been known to bust out a DoSaDo. Wikipedia tells me that is the American Callers Association spelling, so that works for me.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

26 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Ooh, I can’t wait to see your book sale spoils, and I love your husband’s reaction. Mine would behave the exact same way. 🙂 Congrats on being so close to the end of your read-through. Enjoy all those celebratory games of Candy Crush. 🙂

  2. Haha, those filler words are a pest! I always notice repetitions in other people’s writing but I’m completely blind to them in my own… Good luck with the final read-through! 🙂

  3. Filler words at the woooorst. I have no idea how I cram so many in, but it’s quite nice to see my wordcount shrink to something more manageable when I cut them all out.

    I’ve been rewatching Buffy too. It’s a fun show in its early seasons. I do seem to have hit my limit though with season 4. My angst settings aren’t as high as they were when I saw this show the first time around 😛

    Have a great week!

  4. I totally had to learn square dancing in junior high! The only thing good about it, was the possibility that I may get to hold the hand of the cute boy I was crushing on (although usually got stuck with the boy that had sweaty hands :().

    Congrats on cutting all the filler – may you not find another threepeat offender of the word time in your upcoming reading! 🙂

    And I totally need to watch Buffy. Been saying that for years and just haven’t done it….

  5. Your husband’s response to book-buying is exactly the same response my husband has every single time I mention buying more books. He’s already thinking ahead to the next time we move and he has to haul all of those books from point A to point B. 😛

    Getting rid of filler words is a pain in the bum, but it’s also kind of a rush. I remember my massive word count dropping A LOT just by getting rid of ‘justs’ and all of those other tricksy words that seem to multiply like weeds. Congrats on reaching the final read-through stage! You definitely deserve a cake and TV day once you’re done. 🙂

  6. Ah, those filler words. Mine are the usuals like “just” and “so” and “that.”
    I grew up in Canada but I feel like we did some kind of dance in gym class. Can’t remember which kind though. I also took a Country Western dance class in University just for the fun of it. 😉

    • I had to take a “gym” class in college, but the choices were so limited (bowling and maybe one other thing?) that I ended up taking health instead. Dancing as an adult would probably be way more fun than it was in middle school 🙂

  7. I think square dancing was a requirement. I remember it. Good luck at the book sale. Can’t wait to hear what you get.

  8. I kind of love and hate filler words at the same time. They’re a pain, but seeing as my stories are wordy, it’s exhilarating to hack a whole load of them at once and watch my word count go down. Nice work on trimming out all the filler!

    Have fun at the book sale! I hope you find lots and lots of great stuff!

  9. Okay, first – I don’t know if it was a requirement, but yes – Alison had to learn how to square dance in gym class in 1987. Ugh. Also, YAY for being so close to the final read-through! So excited for you! Hope you find a lot of goodies at the book sale!

  10. I’m with you on revisions–I can’t wait to be finished incorporating all the Beta wisdom I now have into my ms. 🙂

    Have an awesome week, Jennifer–may revisions go well.

  11. That’s smart of you to alternate Buffy/Angel, though I never got into Angel. I don’t know why. I tried, but no dice.

    And good luck with the book sale! I love stocking up at book sales. We went to a library sale for children’s books last weekend and I got Babar!! And a picture book by Neil Gaiman! And Junie B. Jones for my niece! We got there ten minutes into the sale, which I’m sure is why I scored such great stuff.

    • I think Angel is harder to get into because it seems very episode to episode and it doesn’t (so far) have season-long arcs like Buffy, where everything leads to a big baddie battle. I’m glad I decided to watch both at the same time, though, since there has been some crossover stuff.

  12. it’s amazing how often I find filler words during revisions! Drives me crazy! I love Buffy and Angel, I need to rewatch both the series soon. Good luck with the rest of your read through!

  13. Congrats on almost being done with the read through! And a pre-congratulations on all your book sale finds. 🙂 One of these days I’ll get around to watching Buffy. I love Joss Whedon but I’ve never seen Buffy. Must correct this soon. Have a great weekend!

    • Other than The Avengers/Agents of Shield, this is the first Joss Whedon I’ve really watched. I think I may have watched an episode of Dollhouse, but for some reason never watched more (maybe a time thing?) I might check that out again in the future.

Leave a Reply

