Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

24 Comments

WUW Winter Holly 1

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

WHEREVER YOU GO by Heather Davis

It’s told from three perspectives – the ghost of a teen who was killed six months earlier in a car accident, his grieving girlfriend, and his best friend. The gf’s grandfather, who is suffering from Alzheimer’s, claims he’s communicating with the ghost.

Even though it’s all connected, there are essentially two stories (at least that’s what I’m getting from the first 100 pages) – the gf/bff and their blossoming romance and the grandfather/ghost and their blossoming friendship. So far I am enjoying the friendship way more than the romance which feels a little random/quick.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I finished my synopsis for JULES!!!

Now I’m working my way through the final read-through.

WHAT INSPIRES ME NOW

I wouldn’t say I was happy to see more snow yesterday, but once it got dark and the streets were quiet, it was pretty. I like looking up at the stars and catching the scent of wood smoke.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Still watching Buffy (I’m the slowest binge watcher ever, I know) – I’m several episodes into the third season. At the rate I’m going I may be done by Christmas. I’m really enjoying it, although it can be painful to watch sometimes because Buffy’s loneliness and isolation is written so well. Yes, she has a family and, yes, she has friends who know her secret, but she’s ultimately alone. The whole “in every generation a slayer is born” thing is pretty literal.

It makes me feel all the feels for her and it also reminds me that one of my former co-workers recently posted on Facebook about movies that make us cry. It was interesting to see the various answers (from Titanic to Be Kind Rewind), although it seems to be universally accepted that no one can watch “Up” without crying. I’m generally a mess over any kind of coming-of-age story (Angus, My Girl, etc.) or sports flick (Rudy, We Are Marshall, etc.) . 

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

24 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Jennifer, congrats on finishing the dreaded synopsis! Seriously, I hate that, but once you have it you can move on to querying. Yay! It has been years since I watched Buffy. I loved that show so much, and still vividly remember many of the episodes. Joss Whedon did an amazing job with her character. One of my all-time faves.

  2. I have to admit–when I thought it might be snowing last night, I peeked out the curtains for one (hopefully last) look at snow in streetlights. Despite my total hatred of winter, at this point. (It wasn’t actually snowing, which I appreciated on my way to work this morning.)
    I still can’t even think about My Girl without tearing up!

    Good luck with the synopsis!

  3. Yes, the snow yesterday was a beautiful ending to all of the snow we’ve had this winter. It was the last one right?

  4. Yay for finishing your synopsis!!! I swear – that has to be harder to write than an actual story. Good for you for pushing through! Also, that ghost story sounds awesome! Must add to the TBR!

  5. Congrats on finishing your synopsis. I am the absolute worst at writing them. Are you getting excited about querying yet??? 😉 I never really got into Buffy, but I think I might have to do a slow binge watch like you have been. I’m always a total mess at the end of Remember the Titans. Such a good movie, but also super sad too. Hope you have a great week, Jennifer!

  6. Sports movies usually make me cry, which I’ve always thought is weird. I’m not a sports person.

    Buffy is sad! I love buffy.

    congrats on finishing your synopsis!

    That book sounds really neat.

  7. I agree with you about the snow. I wasn’t happy to see it, but it was just a covering on the grass and trees, didn’t stick to the roads, so nothing inconvenient. It did look pretty. The abundant sunshine in a cloudless sky melted almost all of it today! Hopefully spring’s warm temps are on the way. 🙂

    Happy reading and writing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

  8. Oh geez, that montage of Carl and Ellie gets me every time we watch UP. I’m also a blubbering fool when Beth dies in Little Women and at the end of Return of the King, just to name a couple of the shows that reduce me to a puddle of tears. I always watch movies with a blanket on my lap, then I can hide under it when I bawl my head off lol.

    Nice job on finishing your synopsis! That’s a tough task to get through!

  9. Congrats on finishing your synopsis!

    I’m also watching Buffy for the first time, and I’m on Season 4.

    I don’t usually cry at movies, but I’m thinking The Fault in Our Stars will leave me a complete mess like the book did!

  10. Sports movies always get me too. I blubbered my way through Coach Carter recently. Congrats on finishing your synopsis. What magic spell did you use? 😀

  11. Aw, Buffy is the absolute best. I watched it when it was on TV and then later I binge-watched it all and it’s so much better that way. There’s a lot of continuity that you miss out on when you’re watching it week to week.

    And I am a big movie/book crier. “Up” for sure. Blubbering mess every time. I’m even worse now–I guess hormones?–and I totally cried when we watched “Frozen” a few nights ago. It was when Elsa sings “Let It Go” and my husband thought I was crazy but I was like, through tears, “She can finally be herself!” Haha…

  12. Wherever You Go sounds interesting.

    I love being in the final stages of a project. It’s such a relief, even though there’s always more work ahead.

Leave a Reply

