Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

YAB Bootcamp Update

10 Comments

YAB-Spring-Writing-Challenge-2014

I’m writing my update last minute (again) because my brain nearly turned to mush over the weekend. But THE BEST POSSIBLE mush.

Here’s what happened:

I’ve been taking a break from JULES, like I mentioned last week.

I was thinking about Shiny New Idea, NICK. But then I started thinking about EMMA, who I queried a few years ago. She got requests from agents, but ultimately she was rejected so she went on an indefinitely long camping trip with her family.

I loved EMMA and her loud and rowdy family and friends. And some of the agents that read EMMA liked her, too, but they had issues and gave me feedback that I recognized as good, but I was too burned out at that time to process.

A few days ago, EMMA and company came back from their trip and, you guys, I’m still in love with them. And I could finally see all the places where the story just wasn’t working. So I spent the entire weekend in a manic state of cutting and pasting and rewriting the intro.

So in April, I’m going to work on rewriting the entire WIP. Not even necessarily to ever re-query, but because I feel like I NEED to do it, if that makes sense. For myself.

NICK says it’s okay, he totally (sarcasm) doesn’t mind being trapped where I left him – taking his younger brother to the mall to buy shoes.

How was everyone else’s week?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

10 thoughts on “YAB Bootcamp Update

  1. Good luck with rewriting Emma!!

  2. I’m rewriting my WIP too. Isn’t it nice when you’re still in love with your stories even after a long break? If you’re still interested in swapping, I’m game. 🙂

  3. Loved this: “she went on an indefinitely long camping trip with her family.” I like how you discuss your projects like they are people. Good luck with revising. I might be revising a project I haven’t worked on for 9+ months … we’ll see.

  4. LOVE that you’re working on a project you still love! Definitely worth the mind mush. 🙂

  5. Time away from a project is so eye-opening! It always feels like such an annoying thing to put something in a drawer for a month or more just to see it with new eyes, but cases like this prove what a valuable tool time is for revisions. Good luck with EMMA! 🙂

Leave a Reply

