Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

10 Comments

KITERUFFLED2

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

SWEETLY by Jackson Pearce

It’s a modern day retelling of Hansel and Gretel. How great is this cover?

Sweetly cover

WHAT I’M WRITING

Still revising JULES. I’m up to 84% done with the whole draft!

Also…

I have a Shiny.New.Idea! I jotted down a rough first chapter Monday b/c my MC wouldn’t stop shouting his thoughts in my head. Yes, HE. I’ve never written an entire book from a male perspective and I’m excited for the challenge.

I’m not much of a plotter, but I do generally make a page or two of notes of what I think will happen. Things don’t always go the way I planned, but at least it’s a starting point.

I’ll share more about my SNI when my thoughts are in better working order. Oh, but I can tell you the title for the time-being is NICK. Pretty soon, all my titles will get together and have a party.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

YAB Bootcamp and Team Rainier! Look at the pretty button our fearless leader, Erin, made for us:

Team Rainier

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Cheering because my work contract was renewed. I’ve been doing what I do for four and a half years. Sorry to be so vague but it’s a confidentiality agreement thing. Just know it involves me staring at a computer all day. Not the most glamorous, but the hours are flexible and I’m constantly learning new, random facts.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

10 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Go Team Rainier! The house we own in WA has an amazing view of Mt. Rainier — I miss it! And yay for your SNI! I’m nearing the end of my revision and I’m kind of on the lookout for a SNI. They rarely hit me as fully formed, though. Usually I have to struggle for weeks (months) to flesh out a semi-workable story. And that SWEETLY cover is fabulous. Going on my TBR list based on the cover alone. Is that shallow? 😉 Have a great week, lady!

  2. That’s a pretty cool cover for SWEETLY. Very well done. And speaking of well done, well done for being 84% of the way through the ms! You’ve made a lot of progress over the past week. Definitely a healthy percentage’s worth of progress, and definitely worth a little excursion into SNI territory. 🙂

    Congrats on the work contract being renewed. I used to work contract, so I know what that uncertainty’s like.

    Have a wonderful time with the Boot Camp this week, Jennifer! 🙂

  3. I just bought SWEETLY not all that long ago but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Its cover is very cool! Love the creepy witch face in the trees.

    I’ve never written a story from a male perspective either, but it’s a challenge I’d like to try sometime too. I have an idea for a dual perspective story (one of the POV’s being a dude) that I’ve been itching to work on. Maybe someday!

    Best of luck with the revising this week! Looks like you’re in the home stretch!

  4. When all your titles get together and have a party. I want to go to said party. (Seriously, I expect an invitation)

    And go Team Rainier!!!!! *pets pretty banner*

    And hooray for new ideas! I am infinitely glad that I am not the only one that has MC’s shouting in their head. (I was afraid I was going to have to order a straight jacket from Amazon.) (They have those, right?)

    Hope you have an amazing week!

  5. Hiiiii! I’ve missed following you! (Is that weird? Haha…) Yay for your SNI! I love the feeling of a new story waiting to be written. It feels so fresh and full of possibilities 🙂

Leave a Reply

