Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

30 Comments

WUW Winter Holly 1What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

HERE I GO AGAIN by Jen Lancaster. It’s an easy-breezy beach read about a woman who gets to temporarily go back in time 20 years to change her mean-girl behavior during her senior year of high school.

The hubs and I were actually talking about something similar the other day (probably why I subconsciously picked up the book), about going back to an earlier time with all the knowledge we have now. If we went too young we’d be annoyed when we weren’t allowed to drive or drink or any other adult-type stuff. Plus, school again? No thanks. I’d be happy with early 20s when I had my first apartment, a fun job, endless energy, and a diet that consisted mostly of snack mix and brownies. My diet is still, sadly, very similar, although I have learned to cook since then so I at least pretend to eat dinner before I scarf down dessert.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m making a few small but mega important changes to the 2nd half of JULES. And since I used a percentage to track my first half progress, here is another number:

My WIP is 65% revised. This is total, not just a half of a half or whatever.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

The YA Buccaneers Spring Writing Bootcamp. Full details here or click the photo below.

YAB-Spring-Writing-Challenge-2014

My goals are:

March – finish revisions on the 2nd half of JULES

April – do a final read-through, write a synopsis and get my first batch of query letters ready

May – start sending out queries and (possibly) start on a SNI

Of course, these are all subject to change. I may spend the next five years just trying to come up with a title. Let’s hope not.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Staring at more snow. Only half a foot this last storm! At the rate the weather is going, my younger brother will have to dogsled in to get his diploma this “spring.”

Having a party for my tabby cat. Yes, this is as lame as it sounds. But he was at the shelter four months before we adopted him and came from the streets before that, so I wanted to have a little celebration for the fact he’s officially been with us longer than the shelter. He and our other cat got lots of treats and catnip and playtime, so they were satisfied.

This isn’t from the party, but it pretty much sums Frank up. Note the crazy eyes.

Winter 2014 033

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

30 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I LOVE Frank! That snargletooth smile is wonderful. And I love, LOVE it that you threw him a party. That is something I would do and my whole family would consider having me committed. 😉

    Good luck with your Spring Writing Bootcamp Goals! We’ll be here, cheering you on from the sidelines.

    Also, “diet of snack mix and brownies” haha too funny!

    Hope you have an amazing week!

  2. Aww, your kitty is adorable. He looks so content. 🙂

    HERE I GO AGAIN sounds like a fun read. I’m not sure I’d ever want to go back in time, but I wouldn’t mind having my pre-baby body back. Though, I’d like to keep my daughter. 😉 As much as I dislike getting older, I wouldn’t trade the wisdom I’ve earned for another shot at youth.

    Have a great week, Jennifer!

  3. I’ve been to birthday parties for dogs before, though don’t recall if I ever attended a party for a cat. I think it’s really cute and sweet.

    I’m not sure I’d want to go back in time, for fear of doing one little thing to disrupt the time-space continuum and radically change the path my life took. Though one of the things I’d be tempted to do, if I had the knowledge, would be to avoid whoever gave me chickenpox one year before the vaccine came out, so I’d be spared that agony at age fourteen!

  4. Haven’t read that one, but I love time travel books. Have you read The Time Traveler’s Wife. That’s a good one, too. Your cat is so expressive in the picture. He looks like a real fun character!

  5. Aw, cute cat! ^_^

    Good luck with all your boot camp goals 😀

  6. Aww, your cat is adorable! Good luck with your goals! I think I’m going to join the boot camp, too. ^_^

  7. I’m doing Spring Writing Boot Camp too. I really ned the focus. Good luck with your goals. Have a great weekend!

  8. Ha! I had to laugh at your “crazy eyes” comment. My sister has a tabby cat that totally has crazy eyes. He’s quite the mischievous guy. I love that you’re having a party for your cat. Why not? When you think of all the happiness pets bring us, it only seems fair to celebrate them.

    You’re doing great with your revisions! I only wish I was that far along. Have an awesome week!

  9. Awww, Frank is so cute! I love that you threw a party for them. I don’t think that’s weird at all, but then I’m a total cat lady. 😉 Your idea of going back in time with all the knowledge we have now would be fantastic. There are so many things I would do differently, namely pick a different major and ultimately a different career. I’d better not think about this too much or I’m just going to bum myself out lol. Hope you get tons more done on Jules. Sounds like you have a great plan for yourself, so that’s awesome. Have a great week, Jennifer!

  10. HERE I GO AGAIN sounds like it could be hilarious. If I went back to high school I think I’d spend less time studying and more time doing things. You’re only young once and, like I thought when I was 16, there has not been a need for calculus in my life. Not even once. 🙂

    Good luck revising JULES!

  11. Good luck with your Spring Writing Bootcamp! I haven’t had a chance to most mine, but will try to by tomorrow! It sound like you have this revision well in hand, which is so exciting!

  12. OK, so that’s 65% of the entire novel, not 65% of the latter 50%–you’ve revised 100% of the first 50%… so that means of the latter 50% you’ve done… umm… quite well! 😀 Math is NOT my strong suit, which is why I’ve enjoyed your percentage updates. 😉

    I think the only reason I would go back in time is to observe and refresh my memory. I wouldn’t change anything, even though there are things I would be tempted to change. So many small, even unnoticed things can affect events that I would be too afraid of making the future worse by attempting to make the past better. There are things I would love to remember better, though. What was on my bedside table in that picture of me sleeping when I was 5? Did that scene I recall really play out that way? I’d be happy being an invisible presence in the room at the time, kind of like when Harry got sucked into Tom Riddle’s diary in CHAMBER OF SECRETS.

    Have a great week, Jennifer! 😀

    • I actually did think about giving a percentage of the 2nd 50%, but my brain refused to cooperate 🙂

      Yeah, I wouldn’t mind going back and observing a few things, although I’d probably be horrified as I watched young me do dumb things.

  13. Cute cat and happy revising.

    I like time travel books like those, but in reality we mess up to learn important lessons. I do sometimes wish I can do over certain things, though.

    • Even though the book has a happy ending, the MC has to live through a few totally messed up versions of her life. It makes me glad I don’t actually have the potential to go back in time 🙂

  14. Your cat is ADORABLE. 🙂 Obviously he needs a party!

    Thanks for joining the Spring Writing Bootcamp! I’ll be cheering you on! 🙂

  15. Spring Bootcamp is inspiring me too! Hoping we get some serious work done!

Leave a Reply

