Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

12 Comments

WUW PLANEBORDER2WHAT I’M READING

Winter Town by Stephen Emond

I like that the book has illustrations and there are some cool, little details (Evan’s dad’s mini Christmas village), but I’m not really connecting to the story/characters. Everything feels a bit too surfacey for me and I like to get down into the painful nitty gritty of things.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Still working on JULES. One of these days I’ll come up with a title and won’t keep calling my story by my MC’s name.

In YAY news, I met my Writer Recharge goal of revising half of my WIP!!! I’m hoping to have the next half done by the end of March, or thereabouts, along with a query and synopsis.

After that, I will enter into the magical/scary time of querying. But until then, it’s like Voldemort and I’ll try not to mention it. And if I do, it’ll be all, “I’m writing my you-know-what to get ready for that time that shall not be named.”

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

My cousin is getting published! On the topic of ocean acidification! I don’t really know what that is! But I’m super psyched for her.

Writer Recharge – I’ve had such a blast reading everyone’s updates and having Twitter parties. The YA writing community is rock rockin’ it.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I mentioned Monday that my younger bro was in another play at school – Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing. He played the villain and he was A-W-E-S-O-M-E. Seriously, it’s not just me who thinks so. After his first scene, I heard a woman near me say to someone else, “He’s good!” I beamed with sisterly pride.

I finally watched the last Twilight movie (yes, I know, I’m like two years late to the party, but I’ve just now finally stopped being traumatized by the birth scene from Part 1). I’ve decided Part 2 should be called, “A Gathering of Ridiculously Good-Looking People.” Because…huh? Is this real life? How are these people so freaking attractive? And rich? And how do I become this rich without having to eat people?

Speaking of pretty:

Last fall I took a pic of the dragon-tree outside my local library. Here it is for reference. Note how happy.

Oct 2013 tree dragon

The other day I took a winter pic. So sad.

winter dragon tree

I have no idea why the photo turned out so dark and ominous like there’s a major storm approaching. There better not be. I’ve had my fill of snow for the year. That pile on the ground is what remains of the last storm, which dropped a foot and a half.

Since the tree is not sparkly, I can safely assume he is not a vampire.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

12 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Congrats on hitting your revision goal. That’s awesome! You’re on a roll. Keep it up!

  2. If I haven’t said it before, I’ll say it again: congrats on achieving you #WriterRecharge goal, Jennifer! Woohoo!! This challenge has been great, and I know many have benefited from it (me included).

    For the record, I’ve not seen any of the Twilight movies, and have not read any of the books. 🙂

    I think those pictures sum up how most people feel about the cold weather this season. A few months ago, the world was bright and cheerful. Now it feels dead and sad. You’ve encapsulated the feelings of a nation in a single picture! 🙂

    Have a great writing week!

    • It’s been so long since I’ve read the Twilight books that I don’t really rem them, but the movies are fluffy fun, the kind where you can gather a bunch of people together and throw popcorn at the screen and talk through scenes, but not miss much.

  3. Hooray for hitting your goals 😀 Congratulations to your cousin, too.

    Ah, querying’s not so scary. You just wait! 😀

  4. “And how do I become this rich without having to eat people?” Haha! No doubt. If you stumble across the answer to that question, please fill me in. Congrats on meeting your revision goal! Past the halfway point is awesome. I think it really gives you that boost you need to keep moving forward. Good luck! 🙂

  5. Conrgats on meeting your Writer Recharge goal! I’ve failed mine completely but oh well, there’s always next month!

  6. right now my WIP is also named after the MC until I figure something else out. Congrats on reaching your Writer Recharge goal! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

