Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

26 Comments

WUW Winter Holly 1What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

I finished WHEN AUDREY MET ALICE by Rebecca Behrens and who knew that Alice Roosevelt was such a badass? I’ve been looking up more about her on the good ol’ Internetz. I’ll post a review probably next week, telling you all the reasons why you should check out this MG.

Currently I’m reading AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES by John Green.

I’ve also been working my way through DEVIL IN THE WHITE CITY by Erik Larson, which is an unsettling non-fic I can only read so much of at one time.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I posted my Writer Recharge update on Monday and I was about a quarter of the way done with my goal of revising half of JULES. The past two days I put on my Brave Writer Pants to face a tricky section and I’m now 30% done!

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Last week I mentioned my younger bro helping out his friends in film class. I watched one of the movies and really liked it.

The story revolved around four students who were given a week-long school assignment of “What if…” and it was basically asking, “What if I did this or that instead of what I’m doing?”

As an example, one guy decided he was going to speak up more and give his honest opinion about things instead of keeping quiet.

As you can guess, these “small” changes weren’t so small and in the end everyone learned a lot about themselves.

It definitely made me think.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I’m still watching (and loving) Buffy. The 90s really were fantastic, weren’t they?

Speaking of the 90s…

My above-mentioned bro and I watched another hilariously awful movie. It was a sci-fi musical called “The Apple.” It came out in 1979-80 (depending on country) and was set in the future of 1994. It was filmed in Germany, set in the United States, and two of the main characters were from Canada, which is apparently the “boondocks” in 1994. Not to mention one of the “Canadians” sounded vaguely Scottish. Oh, and the U.S. has billions of people by then and everyone dresses like a combination of Ziggy Stardust and The Pointer Sisters in their “I’m So Excited” video.

The film is supposed to be a “biblical allegory” about avoiding temptation, but it’s hard to take that message seriously when everyone is dancing around in gold and silver lamé undies and a random commune of 1960’s refugees who live in a cave and are led by a barrel-chested man who looks like the result of a mating between Hagrid and Dumbledore sing “Child of Love.”

No, I am not making any of this up. It was glorious in its absurdity.

It’s on Netflix, should anyone want to watch. Warning: not kid friendly. Secondary warning: the songs are strangely catchy. Especially when Hagrid/Dumbledore leads the chorus.

Hmm…what else?

There’s a giant winter storm headed toward my area and there’s a potential for over a foot of snow. Blah.

Oh and then there’s the little news that:

I’M AN AUNT AGAIN!!!

My brother’s wife gave birth to their second child (another girl) earlier this morning. Today is also my brother’s birthday so this pretty much makes the book I gave him pale in comparison 🙂

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

26 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Brave Writer Pants. Best. Motivator. Ever.

    That movie? Good Lord, that sounds nuts. It’s going in my queue right now.

    Congrats on making progress on your WIP!

  2. So… that makes what percentage increase of the percentage of your total percentage you’ve written…? 😉 Seriously, great going, Jennifer! 😀

    I think ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES is my favorite of the John Green novels that I’ve read (and I believe I’ve read them all except for PAPER TOWNS). John Green is one of the best YA writers, and ought to be read by anyone attempting to write YA. But there’s usually something in his books that irks me on a worldview/philosophical level that saps some of the enjoyment for me. KATHERINES irked me the least. 🙂

    Congrats to your brother! And to you for becoming an Aunt again!! Have a wonderful rest of the week! 🙂

  3. Congrats on the new baby in your family!

    Also, that movie sounds hilarious. I might have to track it down and watch it myself.

    Have a great week!

  4. OMG, laughing myself silly over that sci-fi movie you mentioned. I’m so tempted to go and check it out. Too funny. As someone who was a teen in the 90s, I find this especially hilarious. I really like the “What if…” film topic from your brother’s class, especially the example you gave. I can’t even imagine how different my life would be if I always spoke my mind honestly instead of keeping quiet. Whoa. Good luck with your writing this week, Jennifer!

  5. Love Buffy! Brings back so many memories! I haven’t read anything other than The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, I should probably pick up some of his other stuff, especially because I loved his writing style. You’re doing great with your writing goal!

  6. Congratulations on your new niece! How exciting! And I love that you’re loving Audrey and Alice. I looked up a bunch of stuff about Alice while I was reading too — I had no idea she was so cool! Looking forward to reading your view.

    Have a great week, Jennifer!

  7. Congrats on being an aunt again ^_^

    Have a great week!

  8. Kudos on the progress you’ve made with your revisions! That’s awesome. I like that you’re using a percentage to track your progress. I’ve been going by “chapters”, but my chapters are actually more like sections, and they aren’t the same number of pages or words … Anyhow, long ramble short, percentage sounds like a far more satisfying way to go. 🙂

    Hurrah for the new baby in your family! How exciting. 🙂 I love being an auntie.

    Have a great week!

  9. Oh boy, I can NOT stop laughing! That movie sounds like a real gem. It’s funny enough just reading your description of it let alone actually watching it!

    Sounds like you’re making some great headway on revisions. I really need to put on my Brave Writer Pants this week too and tackle some tough scenes (love that analogy btw).

    Congratulations to your brother and his wife on their new baby! Have a super week! 🙂

  10. Congratulations on being an aunt again 🙂

    30% done is great too! Good luck tackling the rest of your novel.

  11. Yaaay, congrats to you and your family on the new addition! And I love An Abundance of Katherines. One of my favorite John Green books.

  12. Congrats on being an aunt again! And nice job with the Write Recharge goal!

  13. Congrats on being an aunt again. I really want to see that movie you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

