Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Writer Recharge 2014 – Update 1

13 Comments

My goal this month is to get through a new round of revisions on half of my WIP.

So my total goal is 50%

I’m 23% done!

Meaning that I took half the pages in my MS, made that number 100% and I’m about a quarter done of the 50%.

Wow, that sounds convoluted.

Let’s just say I’m one-fourth of the way to my goal.

Go me! And math! And I’m sorry to my retired math teacher grandmother and my math-degreed older brother for the butchering I’ve just performed. I like numbers, I really do.

Anyway…

Let’s ignore the fact that there wasn’t a whole lot to edit in that particular section and I’ve sorta been avoiding my MS for a few days because I have a lot of work to do in the next few chapters. It involves some rearranging and changing a few little facts that will require little changes throughout the rest of the book. Not hard work, but time-consuming and I’m being a big wimp.

Tonight I jump back into revisions, though!

How is everyone else doing?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

13 thoughts on “Writer Recharge 2014 – Update 1

  1. Whoa. So many numbers. My head is spinning. 🙂

    I am in exactly the same boat as you. I’ve gotten through the (relatively) easy stuff, and now I’m facing the part of my WiP that needs the most work. Wishing you lots of luck!

  2. Writing math would probably perplex a lot of non-writers. I did some of my own this weekend. which was more like estimating, though I did use a calculator 🙂

  3. Well done on getting 23% out of 100% of 50% completed, Jennifer! 😀 Yeah, the tough stuff may be ahead, but that 23% needed to be done, and you still have more than 50% of the month left to do the other 77%… 😉

    All the very best to you!

  4. Yay, go you.

    I sometimes procrastinate on changes, even though once I do them they’re really not that bad.

  5. I’m a big wimp too when it comes to those fixes. I know how everything should go in my head – motivating myself to fix it? That’s another story. 🙂 But it sounds like you’ve been making SO MUCH progress. Hope you have another great week!

  6. Why is math so awful!?! Awesome job getting a quarter way through revisions!

Leave a Reply

