Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

34 Comments

WUW Winter Holly 1

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

WHEN AUDREY MET ALICE by Rebecca Behrens! I practically tackled the UPS man when I saw the brown truck pull up. I’ve been looking forward to reading this book since pretty much forever.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m excited about Writer Recharge 2014, hosted by: Katy Upperman, Alison Miller, Liz Parker, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Sara Biren

Get full details by clicking on the image below.

My February goal is to read over beta notes on JULES and revise half of the MS.

Writer Recharge 14

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

My younger (teen) brother showed me a screenplay he’s writing. He’s only a few pages in, but the concept is great and it’s dark-comedy funny, which is what he intended. I’m looking forward to reading more.

On a side note, I’m totally jealous that his high school has a film studies class where the students make their own movies. How cool is that?

All this creativity makes my heart happy.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I finished Veronica Mars and now I’m watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

It’s really strange that until a few days ago, I’d never seen a single episode. I loved the movie and I love teen shows, so…

If it’s bedtime and I should be sleeping, chances are I’ll be watching an episode of Buffy instead. Everyone and everything is so 90s pretty/handsome.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

34 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. So glad you’re joining us for #WriterRecharge! And yay for WHEN AUDREY MET ALICE! I adored that story — can’t wait to hear what you think of it. Have a great week, Jennifer!

  2. (Thank you!) I haven’t watched either Veronica Mars or Buffy yet–I really need to fix that. Maybe while it’s still this long, cold, icy winter I should do a marathon weekend . . .

  3. I need to join Writer Recharge, because I need someone to hold my feet to the fire.

    I’ve heard good things about WHEN AUDREY MET ALICE. Curious to see what you think of it, because I think you have excellent taste. And tackling the UPS guy, been there, done that. I’ve had them say, “Hold your horses!” to me before as I’m dashing barefoot down the driveway. (Patience is an overrated virtue)

    Hope your week is marvelous! 🙂

  4. I’ve never watched Veronica Mars either. Actually, I should make that the next show I get into!
    I just reserved When Audrey Met Alice for my daughter who is always looking for great books to read.

  5. Best of luck with your Writer Recharge goals.

    I love Buffy. It’s such a fantastic show. Brings back a lot of good memories ^_^

  6. I love that your brother shared his screen play with you. I can attest to the fact that it’s awesome having a sibling to share writing with. I’ve never seen a whole episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer either, even though my brother was a huge fan, and my parents once had a cat named after Buffy. Good luck with your revisions. 🙂

  7. I hope you enjoy Rebecca’s book. It’s been fun reading her blog where she shares her excitement over finally seeing her work in print. I’m sure if/when that happens to me, I’ll feel much the same way.

    All the best with your Writer Recharge goals this week, Jennifer! 🙂

  8. I’m dying to read WHEN AUDREY MET ALICE, too. It sounds all sorts of adorable. And high-five to your brother for pursuing his writing. It’s very cool that the school fosters that kind of writing, too.

  9. Ohhh i loved Veronica Mars Tv series. I can’t wait for the movie and i recently saw that they are doing another tv series. I imagine its a spin off from the movie. It’s in it’s early stages at the moment.

    When Audrey met Alice looks great.

    Have a good week.

  10. I only started watching Buffy last year (and I only got up to Season 2) and I’ve never seen Veronica Mars – I need to rectify that at some point! Good luck with the writing goals!

  11. Awe, Veronica and Buffy, TV used to be so fabulous. Two of my former favorite shows. Have a great week.

  12. I hadn’t heard of When Audrey Met Alice but it looks like a great read. Will have to check that out. I am jealous that your brother has a film class in high school. I would have loved that as a teen.

  13. Ooh – I’m so excited to read WHEN AUDREY MET ALICE! You’ll have to share your review when you finish! Best of luck with your revisions, Jennifer!

  14. You know, I’ve only watched probably one or two episodes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, which pretty much makes me a 90s teen failure lol. I’ll have to check them out sometime. I think my next binge watch might be Supernatural since I’ve been hearing so much about it.

    That’s fantastic that your brother is writing too! It’s great having a sibling that writes. I love it, anyway. 🙂

  15. I’d love to see Veronica Mars. I haven’t seen it yet.

    Good luck on your writing goals.

    I’m going to look up that book.

  16. Good luck with your goals and thanks for joining in! Let the twitter writing parties commence! I just got to the store to pick up my copy of WHEN AUDREY MET ALICE this afternoon. I can’t wait to read it – but I’m holding onto it as a reward for working on my Recharge goals this weekend. 🙂

  17. Wow, I’d love to go back and watch Buffy. I wonder if it still holds up after all these years. I never watched Veronica Mars while everyone else was watching. I need to watch before the movie comes out. Best of luck with your goals!

    High School film class? Awesome.

    • Buffy seems pretty solid to me, although since I was a teen when it first started airing I get all the 90s pop culture references. I should try and convince my currently teen bro to watch to see what he thinks 🙂

Leave a Reply

