Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

15 Comments

WUW Winter Holly 1

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

THE DREAM THIEVES still because I set it on the backburner to focus on writing.

Which brings me to:

WHAT I’M WRITING

Nothing because I finished my edit/read-through of JULES! I sent that baby off to beta camp and now I’m gonna kick back and relax for at least a few weeks.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Taking a break from writing. It was hard to finish my read-through because I’m kinda burned out by my MS. I think once I’ve been away for awhile and I take a look at beta notes, I’ll be excited to jump back in.

In the meantime, I plan to catch up on some reading.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Binge watching Veronica Mars. So many people I know kept talking about the show, so I figured I’d better see what it was about. I’m through the first season and partially through the second. I keep wondering who I would have been friends with if I’d gone to Neptune High. In fiction-land, Veronica would be fun and exciting to hang with, but in real life, I’d be like, “Really?? Didn’t I just do you a favor?”

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

15 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Yay for finishing JULES! What an amazing feeling. I hope your betas send back tons of helpful and complimentary notes. 🙂 Are you loving VM? I’ve never watched an episode, which makes me feel like maybe my Nerd Card should be revoked. Should I tune in?

  2. I have been meaning to finally watch Veronica Mars for ages! Are you enjoying it so far?
    Congrats on JULES and enjoy your break!

  3. Congrats on finishing JULES! Such a great feeling. 🙂 And you deserve a bit of a break after all that hard work. I need to get back to binge watching my Veronica Mars DVDs. It’s been awhile and I need to buff up before the movie. Have a great week, Jennifer!

  4. I really need to watch Veronica Mars some time too. I’ve never watched a single episode, but with the movie coming out, I suppose I should get up to speed.

    I hope you enjoy your break from writing. You deserve it after finishing up your edits! 🙂

  5. Congrats on finishing JULES!!! That is wonderful!

    I completely know what you mean about getting burned out on an MS. After a couple rounds of edits, I’m dying to start something new. It makes me realize that I better really, REALLY love my next MS idea, because I’m going to be living with these characters for about a YEAR. 🙂

    Hope your week is splendid and you get to catch up on some reading.

  6. I have yet to watch Veronica Mars when I’ve heard so many great things about it.

    I’m on sort of a writing break. I’ve been doing very little. I’m concentrating on marketing stuff. I love sending things to my beta readers and getting the feedback. I get excited when I return to the project.

  7. YAY! Congrats for getting your novel off to betas! Hopefully I’ll be in the same position soon. The First Readers are making good progress, so I’m expecting some feedback, some changes, and then it’s off to beta world! It is exciting to contemplate. 🙂

    I hope you enjoy this writing break. I’m sure by the time you get feedback from the betas, the time away will give you a fresh perspective on your work. I’m counting on the same. 😀

  8. Yes, sometimes you just need to take a break! Hope you get some good feedback.

Leave a Reply

