Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

26 Comments

WUW PLANEBORDER2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

I just started THE DREAM THIEVES

WHAT I’M WRITING

Editing JULES and even closer to the end. Since I’d taken a break it was hard to get back in the zone. I worked on the same scene for days, feeling completely disconnected. Now I’m back on track and my tentative plan is to start querying this spring.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

There are several businesses that have recently opened near me – coffee/tea/chocolate type places – and I can’t wait to check them out over the next few weeks. I’m hoping they are the start of a downtown revitalization in my town because it’s sad to walk to Main Street and see a bunch of shuttered buildings.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

The other week when I was cleaning, I found an old 35mm camera with film still inside. I had it developed this past weekend and found Christmas pics from about five or six years ago which was a nice surprise. My niece was a baby and my little bro looked so young.

I felt like such a dolt at the photo counter at CVS because I’ve had a digital camera for so long I’d forgotten how to drop off actual film. I was basically like, “Me at right place? You make picture squares?”

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

26 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Ooh, I loved THE DREAM THIEVES. I’m such a Gansey fan! I scrolled down a few posts and found a photo of your kitty Legend and you’re right — he and Daphne could definitely be long-lost cousins. 🙂

  2. I kind of miss film cameras. There’s something so much simpler and nostalgic about them, without that kind of instant gratification and ease of deletion you get with a digital camera.

  3. THE DREAM THIEVES. My favorite book of last year. The end. (Gansey forever!)

    I used to love getting film developed, but like you it has been ages since I’ve had the need. I hope you have a great week Jennifer!

  4. I know what you mean about finding it hard to get back in the zone. I’ve been away from the zone for so long I can barely remember what the zone is lol. It’s great that you’ve gotten back on track and are nearing the end of this story. That’s pretty great that so many businesses are opening up around you. Lots of places to check out and maybe write at??? 🙂

  5. What a treat to find an old roll of film. I love the convenience of digital cameras, but I also kind of miss the anticipation of waiting to see your pictures. Developing film felt a little like reliving all those happy memories again. An you just got to relive that Xmas six years later. Super fun. I hope you have a great week!

  6. Last time I tried to had a film developed, the woman laughed at me and said they’d stopped doing that ages ago ^^; What a lovely surprise for you though! 😀

    Best of luck getting ready for querying ^_^

  7. I haven’t read Dream Thieves yet (so many books!). I wonder if manual film cameras will see a resurgence like vinyl records have. Like older SLRs. My mom and my aunt still print out so many pictures. I haven’t done that much in the past few years, so I do think digital makes us lazy about actually getting prints.

    • I just recently turned some of my digital pictures into prints and I think it’s the first time I’ve ever done that. I’d forgotten how great it was to actually hold the pics. I can totally see film cams making a comeback – they’ll be the next trendy thing like swing dancing or 1980s inspired outfits 🙂

  8. Film photos! I miss them so much. I love how you found it in an old camera; it’s like an accidental time capsule.

  9. Taking breaks from stories usually really helps me get back to revising them probably. I’m glad that worked for you too 🙂

  10. Oh!! The Dream Thieves! I love it so much. Hope you enjoy it 🙂

  11. My mom has a box full of film. I’m so curious what’s on them. Good luck with edits. Have a great weekend!

  12. That’s cool about the film.

    I don’t like to see barren strip malls and stores shut down. Having businesses flourishing is a great sight.

  13. I sense a trend. We’ve just had a tea shop open in our city. I haven’t been yet, but I think my wife plans to go sometime soon.

    I’m glad your writing’s back on track, Jennifer. All the best with the words this week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

