Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

28 Comments

WUW Winter Holly 1What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

THE DISASTER ARTIST: My Life Inside the room, The Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made

It was a gift from my little brother and it’s hilarious, disturbing and sad.

Next in my pile is THE DREAM THIEVES. It’s been sitting on my shelf for months and I’m finally getting to it!

In other news, I’ve decided to do away with my reading themes each month. I’d sort-of fallen off that wagon anyway. What I really need to do is read books I own. I have this tiny problem with not following through on things. See below for more explanation.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I took a break from editing JULES, but I’m slowly wading back in and hoping to be done in the next few weeks.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

I did a major “spring” cleaning the few days after Christmas. I usually do this twice a year – once around Christmas when I have new things to make room for and another right before summer because I don’t like feeling cluttered/heavy when the weather gets hot.

I took a good, hard look at my TBR-shelf, which brought me to my word of the year:

COMPLETION

I’ve got a shelf full of books, some of which have been there for years. I’ve got half-finished craft projects crammed in the closet and I’ve got a giant collection of recipes I’ve saved for “later.” I’ve also got a dentist appointment I’ve been meaning to make for, like, four years. The same with the eye doctor.

I just need to DO, instead of thinking about doing.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I discovered a TV channel that airs a lot of shows from the 70s and, as I’ve mentioned before, the 70s =s LOVE for me. I made my husband watch an episode of H.R. Pufnstuf because he’d never seen it. It was even more bizarre than I remembered.

It airs Wonder Woman, too, and it’s as glorious as I remember. Hubby looked at me like I was nuts when I got excited by Diana spinning her way into WW, but I’m sure as a kid he was just as thrilled when Prince Adam powered of Grayskulled into He-Man.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

28 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Ooh, I love that theme of COMPLETION. What a great idea to focus on! I’m pretty good at starting projects/WiPs/novels and letting them fall to the wayside too. I think I might make COMPLETION my sub-word for 2014. 🙂 Happy reading and editing, Jennifer!

  2. Oh, COMPLETION is such a good word. I have been good lately at completing writing stuff–which means every other project is woefully unfinished. Particularly ones related to housekeeping. Almost 9 months after moving . . . still not unpacked! So I will be borrowing your word. 🙂

    • I’ve got a box of old writing that I’ve been meaning to go through…for like 15 years now. Can’t wait to see what I find. Every time I’ve moved, it’s moved with me and it never gets unpacked. This year it will! Maybe.

  3. Completion is a great one. I think it’s really hard to know when to see things through, and when to let things go. I wish you luck with that, and with your revisions.

  4. Good luck with your goal of completion this year. My TBR shelf is a bit overrun too. I think completion is an important goal for all of us. So come on, let’s get to it.

  5. Oh, geez. I’m right there with you on the completion thing. We could be twins on that front lol. Right down to the half finished crafts. I, too, need to stop thinking (and talking) about doing and just do. I have the same physical TBR shelf issues as well. I want to challenge myself to making a serious dent in it. Like, every second book should be one I already own or something. You’re inspiring me to really give this a go. 🙂

  6. You and I have the very same problem. I am great at starting things and terrible about actually finishing them. My workroom looks like the place where projects go to die. 😉

    Thing is, I get so excited at the beginning of a project or a new book idea. (It’s my favorite part.) It’s the follow through that is hard. So if you have any masterful advice for a fellow sufferer of this affliction, let me know.

    And I laughed out loud at the Wonder Woman thing! I remember me and my friends used to do that spin thing when we were 5! She was the first kickass woman I met.

    Hope you have a marvelous week!

  7. I always enjoy a good post-Christmas clear out 🙂

    Good luck getting back to work with your editing.

  8. I’m like you- as soon as Christmas is over I want to get down my decorations and then I go into organization mode. I cleaned all the marks off the walls on my main floor (it took 2 hrs!) but I still have to do the upstairs. Ack.
    Have fun reading The Dream Thieves! I loved it.

  9. One of my goals this year is to really cut down on my TBR books that are filling up my shelves as well. Good luck 🙂

  10. Oh man, completion is a great word for 2014. My to do lists just keep getting longer and longer, so I should follow your example. Your reference to He-Man totally cracked me up btw. When we were kids, Jaime, my brother, and I would play Barbies, My Little Pony, He-Man and G.I. Joe all at the same time. Those were the days. Hope easing back into your revisions goes well! 🙂

  11. I loveddd the Dream Thieves! You are in for a treat!

    Also, your word for 2014 is perfect! I realized I need to complete a lot of things this year too.

  12. He-man transforming by the POWER OF GREY SKULL was way cooler then the WW lame ass spin. And as I type this you make your point of my being a boy at the time. You had She-ra and I am sure her transformation was way cooler then Wonder Woman’s lame ass spin as well!

    ❤ the hubs

  13. Being more disciplined, focused, and trying to get more accomplished rather than squandering time on the irrelevant seems to be a running theme today on WUW–and I’m certainly one of the crowd. I spend too much time thinking about doing and not doing too, Jennifer, so you’re definitely not alone there. Here’s hoping 2014 is the year of doing much that matters for both of us! 🙂

  14. Sometimes it’s hard to do things we’ve been meaning to do. I write things in my calendar and to-do list to make sure things get done. I still procrastinate on a few things, though.

    I also did a major cleaning during winter break. It felt appropriate to be more organized before New Year’s.

Leave a Reply

